Now I got them... What do I do with em?

Discussion in 'Mac Basics and Help' started by hcuar, Jun 13, 2005.

  1. hcuar macrumors 65816

    hcuar

    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2004
    Location:
    Dallas
    #1
    So... I bought two additional Macs today... :rolleyes:

    I'm not sure if they were a good deal or not... I got a grape iMac 333 and a PowerMac 6400 for a total of $20.00. The iMac 333 is stock except for a total of 160MB of RAM. The PM has been upgraded with a 40GB HD, not sure of the RAM... I didn't pay attention. The iMac is running OS 8.6, the PM is running OS 9.1.

    So... :rolleyes: The question is what do I do with them now? I like to dedicate the iMac to letting the baby play with it as soon as she can sit upright. (not born yet, but I can dream :D ) What free or nearly free software would work on these two Macs? Both are operating in top condition!
     
  2. Daveway macrumors 68040

    Daveway

    Joined:
    Jul 10, 2004
    Location:
    New Orleans / Lafayette, La
    #2
    You got a great deal. I bought a similar set last month for $50.

    I hear the guys on the MR Folding team need some help or you can leave it for the kids to use for the net etc. Remember to have one to tinker with, thats what I say. ;)
     
  3. hcuar thread starter macrumors 65816

    hcuar

    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2004
    Location:
    Dallas
    #3
    So... other than folding... what runs on them?
     
  4. yellow Moderator emeritus

    yellow

    Joined:
    Oct 21, 2003
    Location:
    Portland, OR
    #4
    What version of the Mac OS are you running?
     
  5. Brother Michael macrumors 6502a

    Brother Michael

    Joined:
    Apr 14, 2004
    #5
    iMac =8.6
    Pmac = 9.1

    I would get 9.1 for the iMac and run iTunes on both machines.

    Done.

    Mike
     
  6. yellow Moderator emeritus

    yellow

    Joined:
    Oct 21, 2003
    Location:
    Portland, OR
    #6
    Ooops, duh, you're right, that was in the original post.
     
  7. MacDawg macrumors P6

    MacDawg

    Joined:
    Mar 20, 2004
    Location:
    "Between the Hedges"
    #7
    How about games

    Look here or do a search for old games on this forum.

    Woof, Woof - Dawg
     
  8. yellow Moderator emeritus

    yellow

    Joined:
    Oct 21, 2003
    Location:
    Portland, OR
    #8
  9. wordmunger macrumors 603

    wordmunger

    Joined:
    Sep 3, 2003
    Location:
    North Carolina
    #9
    I think have a bunch of edutainment software for my old iMac that our kids have outgrown. I can let you have it for the price of postage.
     
  10. wdlove macrumors P6

    wdlove

    Joined:
    Oct 20, 2002
    #10
    Until you decided and your child is older, folding in the meantime would help society with disease research. Secondly you would also be helping MacRumors.

    The second the motion to check out Version Tracker.
     
  11. LifeOfRyan macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jun 14, 2005
    Location:
    Shrewsbury, UK
    #11
    I would suggest and as suggested before, if you upgrade the OS, run one as an iTunes server. I'm contemplating buying a recently old (does that even make sense?!) Mac for this exact purpose.
     
  12. Macmaniac macrumors 68040

    Macmaniac

    #12
    If you wanted to be crazy grab the 40gb out of the PM and format it with Tiger or Panther and throw it into the iMac. It would make a nice email/internet machine. Of course you can keep OS 9 and play games like Starcraft and Warcraft:)
     
  13. hcuar thread starter macrumors 65816

    hcuar

    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2004
    Location:
    Dallas
    #13
    I think I'm interested... I sent you a PM... :p
     
  14. sacear macrumors 6502

    sacear

    Joined:
    Jan 12, 2005
    #14
    Lots of Good Old Stuff

    hcuar, I have tons of System 7 through OS 9 era stuff (hardware, software, books, accessories, etc.). I will sell for cheap if you are interested. PM or email me. :)
     
  15. mischief macrumors 68030

    mischief

    Joined:
    Aug 1, 2001
    Location:
    Santa Cruz Ca
    #15
    The iMac maxes out at 384 MB of RAM and you can put in a fairly large cheap ATA drive (up to 80GB reliably).

    You can install up to OS X.3 on it before it gets hanky.

    The 6400.......
     
  16. strider42 macrumors 65816

    strider42

    Joined:
    Feb 1, 2002
    #16
    actually, the iMac maxes out at 512 megs of ram now that low profile 256 meg ram chips are available for that lower slot.

    And every CRT iMac can take up to 127 gigs of formated hard drive size. the only caveat is that on a tray loading iMac like a 333, you have to partition the drive so the OS is on a partition residing within the first 8 gigs of the drive.

    http://www.djonmac.com has some good info on doing the upgrades.
     
  17. slooksterPSV macrumors 68030

    slooksterPSV

    Joined:
    Apr 17, 2004
    Location:
    Nowheresville
    #17
    Wow you're lucky, I bought the iMac in my siggy for almost $300 from MacAztec - very good seller though, but I was happy with it, till I started using this puppy (see other mac in siggy).
     
  18. hcuar thread starter macrumors 65816

    hcuar

    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2004
    Location:
    Dallas
    #18
    Email sent.
     
  19. hcuar thread starter macrumors 65816

    hcuar

    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2004
    Location:
    Dallas
    #19
    I'm planning on adding no additional hardware to either Mac... I do have a 20GB HD I could add to the iMac, however I don't have the install CD's for the OS... :( Which is something I'm looking to buy uber cheap. Not sure I want to run OS X on the iMac (probably 9.x).

    So... no updates until I get a install CD for the OS.
     
  20. slooksterPSV macrumors 68030

    slooksterPSV

    Joined:
    Apr 17, 2004
    Location:
    Nowheresville
    #20
    The iMac will run up to Panther.

    EDIT: You can download Mac OS 7.5 for free - the entire OS, but I recommend swapping hard drives so that OS 9 is on the iMac and OS 8.5 is on the PowerMac. Or I could send you a CD (if I can find it) its for a PowerMac G3 and it has OS 8 on it. I think 8.5, its a restore disk.
     
  21. mms macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Oct 8, 2003
    Location:
    CA
    #21
    The iMac *will* run Panther, but not really enough to be usable for anything with 160MB of RAM. I used to have a Lombard (G3 PB, 333mhz, 384MB) running Panther and it ran acceptably for bare bones tasks - internet, email, word processing. It will probably run well on OS 9 or 8.6 however, and you can use it on just about any everyday tasks. You could just set it in a separate part of the house to use as an internet machine, like I did with an old Performa for a while; or you could use it for iTunes as others have suggested.

    For old games, you could look at abandonware. I'm not completely sure of the legal standing of this software and I've heard arguments for both sides but I'll throw it out just as another idea.
     
  22. jeremy.king macrumors 603

    jeremy.king

    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2002
    Location:
    Fuquay Varina, NC
    #22
    Yellow Dog + MAME = kick ass old school gaming mac :)
     
  23. hcuar thread starter macrumors 65816

    hcuar

    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2004
    Location:
    Dallas
    #23
    Wow!!! that might be a great idea for the 6400....
     
  24. hcuar thread starter macrumors 65816

    hcuar

    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2004
    Location:
    Dallas
    #24
    Will a PM G3 restore disk work on an iMac and the 6400?
     
  25. slooksterPSV macrumors 68030

    slooksterPSV

    Joined:
    Apr 17, 2004
    Location:
    Nowheresville
    #25
    I dunno on the iMac, it didn't work for mine, but then again my firmware is the latest version for the G3's non firewire, so maybe it will, maybe it won't. It didn't for mine at least, yeah... The 6400, if its a G3 processor, maybe.
     

Share This Page