Become a MacRumors Supporter for $50/year with no ads, ability to filter front page stories, and private forums.

Mr. Anderson

Moderator emeritus
Original poster
Nov 1, 2001
VA
Insanely Great Mac just posted an article about who's upping their pc prices.

NEC, Sony and Trigem Computer say they are raising prices for the first time in at least five years in order to keep pace with the higher cost of chips and other parts, according to a Bloomberg report.

http://www.insanelygreatmac.com/news.php?id=220

Apple, always the trend setter.....:D

jefhatfield

Retired
Jul 9, 2000
those two companies will have to follow suit most likely...so what else is new in this biz?

i could see dell keeping the prices the same due to their leverage and big money...frequent repairs (i was a dell next day tech in first IT job) does not scare the pc crowd who is so used to high maintenance machines and dell's big gains in education further reinofrces that dell will one day become the "microsoft' of the hardware world

i had dell clients who were seeing an onsite tech for their third time in one year!

in the meantime, i will enjoy my mac and not have to worry about frequent "repairs":D

mcrain

macrumors 68000
Feb 8, 2002
Illinois
I don't think I would want to be the trendsetter when it comes to raising prices. The first to do it will always receive the most grief, while those that do it after can slip by without comment.

dantec

macrumors 6502a
Nov 6, 2001
California
Lets all just be happy that the iMac is now shipping in "large" (well supposivly) quantities. The price hike wasn't Steve's best move in my opinion, but we can all learn to live with it. Besides iMacs are full of joy, smile at you with their optical drives and are quiet and 100% quality (unlike Dell).

kevinibook

macrumors member
Jan 6, 2002
Geneva ,Switzerland
The first to do it will always recieve the most grief