NSMutableArray - Sound

Discussion in 'iOS Programming' started by scburns123, Feb 18, 2009.

1. macrumors newbie

I am trying to create an app that makes 3 buttons with 3 different sounds (less than 30 seconds). I can't seem to figure out the code. I am new to the iPhone SDK world (and programming world for that matter). I have tried to view the C tutorials in relation to Objective-C tutorials, but don't seem to be making any headwind.

So please don't flame me for my lack of knowledge!!!

So this is a snippet of the code I have so far. Where am I going wrong with it?

Code:

{
    NSAutoreleasePool * pool = [[NSAutoreleasePool alloc] init];

NSMutableArray *myArray;
    myArray = [[NSMutableArray alloc] init];
    myArray = [[[NSMutableArray alloc] initWithObjects:mad:"test.mp4", @"testb.mp4", @"testc.mp4", nil] retain];
    [myArray release];
    [pool release];
    }

I am guessing that I am missing a Loop portion (in reference to Playing button sounds...help).

Thanks anyone and everyone for your help in advance!

2. macrumors 6502a

Oh, no, not another ridiculous bodily sounds app, I hope. :rolleyes:

Good news is if you get it right, you'll make more than the rest of us make in 5 years. People really loved 3rd grade apparently. :)

Bad news (or good news if you like to learn!) is you've got a bit to learn still. I would suggest you go through the iPhone specific tutorials on http://developer.apple.com/iphone and pick up a book on Cocoa development in general (Kochan's book apparently is popular, and he's on this board quite a bit to answer questions)

Then if you have specific questions on "why doesn't this work", "how do I do this", etc., I'm sure people will help.

(As long as you promise it's not another stupid burping farting thing. :))