NT 4.0 for ppc

Discussion in 'Windows, Linux & Others on the Mac' started by wmmk, Apr 7, 2006.

  1. macrumors 68020

    wmmk

    Joined:
    Mar 28, 2006
    Location:
    The Library.
    #1
    ive heard of this. is it true? nt is so old i bet m$ offers it for free. if so, is it in the "microsoft download center"
    p.s. im trying to run my version of world book for windows on my G4
    if i could get NT up and running natively on ppc (i already own xp, but thats x86 only) would i meet these requirements:?
    Minimum System Requirements:
    Microsoft® Windows ME, 2000*, 98, 95, or NT 4.0, XP**
    Pentium or higher IBM or 100% compatible PC
    16 MB RAM (minimum); 32 MB RAM (recommended)
    40 MB hard drive space***
    16-bit color recommended
    16-bit sound card
    CD-ROM drive (double speed or faster)
    Mouse

    thanks:)
     
  2. Moderator

    balamw

    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2005
    Location:
    New England
    #2
    Uh. No.

    Even if you could find NT4 PPC, you still wouldn't be able to run your app. No "universal binaries" for NT4.

    Try VPC? Q?

    B
     
  3. thread starter macrumors 68020

    wmmk

    Joined:
    Mar 28, 2006
    Location:
    The Library.
    #3
    ah yes, q on a G4 mac mini, the slowest thing in the world.
     
  4. thread starter macrumors 68020

    wmmk

    Joined:
    Mar 28, 2006
    Location:
    The Library.
    #4
    THEN AGAIN, WOULD EVEN X86 IN Q BE FASTER THAN XP IN Q?

    sorry about allcaps, i just realized that
     
  5. macrumors G5

    CanadaRAM

    Joined:
    Oct 11, 2004
    Location:
    On the Left Coast - Victoria BC Canada
    #5
    You'd lose your bet...
     
  6. thread starter macrumors 68020

    wmmk

    Joined:
    Mar 28, 2006
    Location:
    The Library.
    #6
    phooey. ill just buy world book fo osx or use actual books.
     
  7. macrumors 65832

    Joined:
    Aug 2, 2004
    #7
    Why don't you just use online references like this one?
     
  8. thread starter macrumors 68020

    wmmk

    Joined:
    Mar 28, 2006
    Location:
    The Library.
    #8
    is barteltby's free? it looks great
     
  9. macrumors 68000

    Joined:
    Aug 5, 2005
    #9
    They're Microsoft. They never offer anything for free. Except drinks (all the Coke you could want at those young developer conference things at the Science Park :D)
     
  10. macrumors 65832

    Joined:
    Aug 2, 2004
    #10
    Yes.

    And I actually access it via Watson (which is now free). This is one of the few Watson tools which hasn't broken over time and is the reason I still install Watson on systems of clients who have kids.

    This is what Watson looks like on my system...



    Tools that seem to still work include References, Weather, Astronomy, Stocks (to a degree) and Translation.

    Watson was bought by Sun Microsystems and was supposed to have been replaced with a new app by now... but it seems like Sun lost interest in the project. Apple's Sherlock copied the interface of Watson but was never as easy to write tools for as Watson, so it was never as useful as Watson was when it was still being sold. Besides, Apple moved on to Dashboard to provide similar web services functionality.

    :rolleyes:

    Anyways, Yes, Barteltby's is free... other than the ads, which is why I still use Watson for accessing it.
     

Share This Page