NTFS on Tiger?

Discussion in 'macOS' started by LastLine, Dec 24, 2005.

  1. LastLine macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Aug 24, 2005
    #1
    Anyone able to help me out here? I've got a Toshiba External HDD formatted to NTFS. Tiger reads it as read only, any reasoning for this? And if so is there any way to correct it?
     
  2. .:*Robot Boy*:. macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jan 21, 2005
    Location:
    New Zealand
    #2
    Tiger can only read NTFS volumes. If you need to use the hard drive on both Mac and Windows machines, I suggest you copy all the data off, reformat it as FAT32 and then copy all the data back onto it :).
     
  3. LastLine thread starter macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Aug 24, 2005
    #3
    Ugh that's silly.

    So why does tiger only support FAT formatting? That seems a bit odd, am I missing osmething?
     
  4. ChrisFromCanada macrumors 65816

    ChrisFromCanada

    Joined:
    May 3, 2004
    Location:
    Hamilton, Ontario (CANADA)
    #4
    Yes Microsoft chose to make NTFS a closed format, therefore windows XP is the only OS that can read it. This is Microsoft's fault not Apple's.
     
  5. LastLine thread starter macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Aug 24, 2005
    #5
    I suppose that shouldn't really surprise me should it? Hm, now to decide what to do...

    So does Apple have anyway of supporting files >4gb in size?
     
  6. Nermal Moderator

    Nermal

    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Dec 7, 2002
    Location:
    New Zealand
    #6
    You could format it for HFS+ then use MacDrive to read it on Windows. MacDrive is not free, though.
     
  7. LastLine thread starter macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Aug 24, 2005
    #7
    Nah windows is my primary computer at the minute so it isn't worth it for that. I'm just pondering it now. I have an old 120gb drive I could use for the mac I guess.

    Ah well screw it, it can wait till after the holidays now :p
     
  8. mkrishnan Moderator emeritus

    mkrishnan

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2004
    Location:
    Grand Rapids, MI, USA
    #8
    Yes, MacHFS+.... Which, sadly, is their format that *Microsoft* can't even read, let alone write.

    :(

    If you want to be able to put very large files on it, you must serve the disk off of one computer in its native format, to the other computers. This circumvents the whole issue of filesystems, but you will be stuck with network speed. For instance, you could keep the disc NTFS and put it on a windows computer that serves it up to the Mac. It will be able to write to it in *this* configuration. Or, you can make it MacHFS+ and serve it to Windows off the Mac. The Windows computers will be able to write to it in *that* configuration. Does that make sense?

    The only other option is that there might be third-party software that will let Windows manipulate a MacHFS+ partition. I'm not completely sure about that.
     
  9. LastLine thread starter macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Aug 24, 2005
    #9
    Ah actually I might just go do that! Would be ideal




    Random aside - my ipod keeps skipping the end of assorted tracks, plays to about 80% or so. Fully updated. Any ideas? Just worth a shot rather than making another thread on it
     
  10. dotdotdot macrumors 68020

    Joined:
    Jan 23, 2005
    #10
    Just use the 160 gig one... or look for great deals on cheap HDs.

    Or, you can partition the HD you use now...
     
  11. mkrishnan Moderator emeritus

    mkrishnan

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2004
    Location:
    Grand Rapids, MI, USA
    #11
    There are lots of possible causes for this... it's an issue a handful of people seem to have seen on iPods. Mine will do this once in a blue moon, but only very rarely. If yours is doing this substantially, the sort of top two calls would be:

    1) Make sure that you don't have disk problems: see the procedure here. If you do, you need to get Apple to fix that for you forthwith. :(

    2) You can also try updating the firmware on the iPod or re-writing the current version of the firmware with the latest iPod Updater software, which may already be on your Mac in your Utilities folder. And maybe also try a hard reset.
     
  12. LastLine thread starter macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Aug 24, 2005
  13. howesey macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Dec 3, 2005
    #13
    It's nobodies fault, it's like it for a reason - security.

    Windows XP is not the only OS read/write it, all of the Windows NT OS's can (Win NT 1 - 5, 2000, XP, 2003...), and so can Linux (write can be a bit buggy, and also illegal).
     
  14. Hydra macrumors regular

    Hydra

    Joined:
    May 25, 2004
    Location:
    Finland
    #14
  15. mkrishnan Moderator emeritus

    mkrishnan

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2004
    Location:
    Grand Rapids, MI, USA
    #15
    I think it's security too, but in the journal stability sense. I think NTFS makes it hard for non-native platforms to write basically in exactly the same way MacHFS+ does. They're modern disk systems, and they rely on things like journalling for stability, and these systems get very complicated if multiple computers are writing at the same time and nothing is "serving" the disk. For much the same reason that a database needs a server.
     

Share This Page