NTFS write support ?

Discussion in 'macOS' started by ivan308, Apr 13, 2005.

  1. ivan308 macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Apr 13, 2005
    #1
    Can anyone confirm or deny wether Tiger has write support for NTFS drives ?
     
  2. Platform macrumors 68030

    Platform

    Joined:
    Dec 30, 2004
    #2
    Sorry I don't know but I would really like that.......would make a lot of things a lot easier :cool:
     
  3. gloegg macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Apr 27, 2005
    #3
    now that tiger is out, any info on NTFS write capabilities??
     
  4. mad jew Moderator emeritus

    mad jew

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2004
    Location:
    Adelaide, Australia
    #4
    Not sure, but I'm guessing Apple would publicise this quite a bit - meaning Tiger probably doesn't write to NTFS. :(
     
  5. DXoverDY macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Apr 19, 2005
    #5
    no one has good write support for NTFS. that's just the way the cookie crumbles when microsoft has it closed and proprietary. It'll be a few years before we get stable write support in anything, odds are you'll see it first in Linux, and then it'll be adopted by the darwin project, then make it into a release of OS X.
     
  6. andysmith macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Sep 24, 2004
    Location:
    West Mids, UK
    #6
    And by that time, MS will have moved onto WinFS.
     
  7. DXoverDY macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Apr 19, 2005
    #7
    that's alright because WinFS isn't a filesystem per say.. it's an "addon" to NTFS. All the files are still stored on an NTFS filesystem, however the extra garbage like metadata is tacked on there. No different than spotlight running on HFS+ really.
     
  8. estherau macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    May 4, 2005
    Location:
    australia
    #8
    have an ntfs disk on a pc networked to my G5 on 0S 10.3.9 and it seems to have no trouble copying ordinary files over to the PC disk well so far. I've only had it a short time.
    love esther
    oh I spoke too soon. It copied a small folder 1 gig no problem but on a 2.4 gig it kind of disconected the server I think. NOt working now. :confused:
     
  9. mkrishnan Moderator emeritus

    mkrishnan

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2004
    Location:
    Grand Rapids, MI, USA
    #9
    Write support to an NTFS volume that is being served to the Mac from a Windows machine is a different issue from support for a directly mounted volume, AFAIK. Support for the former has been there for some time (albeit with the kind of limitations you describe).
     
  10. estherau macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    May 4, 2005
    Location:
    australia
    #10
    well i also tried something else

    2 days ago i used carbon copy cloner to clone to a folder and i selected disk image in the preferences and i cloned ,y boot drive to the network drive. it took 2 days and unfortunately I didn't check (and ccc didn't warn me) that the network drive was too small,so it failed to complete, but it sthat disk image still comes up as a possible startup disks when i go to startup disks in my g5 preferences so it loos like it might have been going to work?????
    love esther
     

Share This Page