NTSC DVD to PAL DVD

Discussion in 'Mac Basics and Help' started by carl Heaysman, May 17, 2005.

  1. carl Heaysman macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    May 17, 2005
    #1
    Can anyone tell me if MTK and Popcorn will convert an NTSC video file to a PAL video file when copying a DVD?
     
  2. Duff-Man macrumors 68030

    Duff-Man

    Joined:
    Dec 26, 2002
    Location:
    Albuquerque, NM
    #2
    Duff-Man says...I am not experienced in this area so I may be wrong....but I do not think so - those pgms copy the files in their original formats. You can get a copy of JES Deinterlacer (it is free) and it will convert the ripped files from ntsc so you can burn to pal format.....oh yeah!
     
  3. Hoef macrumors 6502a

    Hoef

    Joined:
    Jul 11, 2004
    Location:
    Houston, TX..... (keep walking)
    #3
    Anyone experienced the results? ... Curios to see if there is significant degredation
     
  4. swiftaw macrumors 603

    swiftaw

    Joined:
    Jan 31, 2005
    Location:
    Omaha, NE, USA
    #4
    I have been doing alot of research into this, and here is what I have concluded.

    Step by Step, how to convert backup an NTSC DVD as a PAL DVD. (or vice versa)

    1. Rip original DVD using MacTheRipper
    2. Use MPEG2 Works to convert the VOB files from NTSC to PAL or vice versa
    3. Use Popcorn to burn the VIDEO_TS folder to a blank DVD.

    Disclaimer: I haven't actually tested this yet, but I plan on doing so.
     
  5. Nermal Moderator

    Nermal

    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Dec 7, 2002
    Location:
    New Zealand
    #5
    Converting from NTSC to PAL won't give you the same quality as authoring PAL in the first place. PAL has a higher resolution than NTSC, so the system will need to insert 'dummy' pixels into the video to get it to the required resolution.

    You'll then have a similar problem with the frame rate - it will need to drop frames in order to match the PAL spec (unless it's 23.976 fps NTSC 'film' (as opposed to 29.97 fps), in which case it will need to insert extra frames).

    But yes, it's doable.

    Edit: Most DVD players sold in PAL countries can also play NTSC, so try that first. It'll be better to keep it in NTSC if possible.
     
  6. swiftaw macrumors 603

    swiftaw

    Joined:
    Jan 31, 2005
    Location:
    Omaha, NE, USA
    #6

    Agreed, actually I am more interested in the reverse, converting a PAL DVD to NTSC. Any idea what the loss of quality is like in that direction?
     
  7. Nermal Moderator

    Nermal

    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Dec 7, 2002
    Location:
    New Zealand
    #7
    I'm just guessing here, but the picture shouldn't look too much worse than normal NTSC. After all, going from a higher quality to a lower one isn't as bad as going the other way.

    The frame rate may be an issue though. I've converted between the two formats in the past, and the video gets 'jumpy' and looks like it's speeding up and slowing down. Unfortunately, I can't remember which direction I converted in, but most likely NTSC to PAL, because I don't recall ever having the need to make an NTSC disc.

    Here in NZ where the majority of players will play both formats, I just leave the content in its original format. I've even authored discs that have a combination of both formats (this might be breaking a spec!)
     
  8. Westside guy macrumors 601

    Westside guy

    Joined:
    Oct 15, 2003
    Location:
    The soggy side of the Pacific NW
    #8
    I just picked up a $60 Phillips DVD player that does the conversion, both ways, on the fly. I wasn't actually looking for that functionality! :D But it's mentioned in the specs.

    Certainly simpler than having to process and then reburn your DVDs.
     
  9. tamara6 macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Apr 28, 2004
    #9
    Which model is that, and where did you get it? Have you tried it out - does it output NTSC to your TV? Will it also play region 2 disks?
     
  10. wiseguy27 macrumors 6502

    wiseguy27

    Joined:
    Apr 30, 2005
    Location:
    USA
    #10
    ditch the conversion?

    Yup, it's best to leave the content in the format it comes in - conversion from NTSC to PAL or vice versa is not a good idea if you prefer good quality. There are bound to be artifacts that just cannot be compensated for.

    PAL is not necessarily high quality since the two things that differ between PAL and NTSC are the resolution and the frame rate. PAL's resolution is higher but the frame rate is lower; NTSC's resolution is lower but the frame rate is higher. The fundamental issue with these formats is that neither of them match "original film" content. But PAL is closer to film in frame rate when compared to NTSC. And for most cases the PAL frame rate would be sufficient.

    Things to keep in mind:
    Standard PAL: Resolution - 720x576; Frame rate - 25fps
    Standard NTSC: Resolution - 720x480; Frame rate - 30fps

    Video content (say, from a camcorder or from a DVD) in PAL format, when converted to NTSC, may become "jumpy" since achieving a frame rate increase "out of nothing" is not an easy task even for the most sophisiticated software. In the reverse conversion from NTSC to PAL, the image quality suffers since resolution cannot be increased "out of nothing" and the frame rate decrease discards information that may make the video unevenly jittery.

    In my opinion, the best choice is to leave the content in its original format (NTSC or PAL) and use a multi-system player that can handle either one during playback. This way, you'd at least avoid screwing up what has (probably) already been messed up (in cases where it has been converted from "original film" content to one of these).
     
  11. Nermal Moderator

    Nermal

    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Dec 7, 2002
    Location:
    New Zealand
    #11
    Assuming it works the same as mine, which is also Philips, it will output PAL for a PAL disc or NTSC for an NTSC disc, with an option to always output in NTSC (and convert PAL to NTSC on the fly), and vice versa.

    In the case of mine, it could play region 4 out of the box, but after opening the tray, typing 99990, then closing the tray again, it can now play all regions :)
     

Share This Page