NTSC PAL Question

Discussion in 'Games' started by Patmian212, Feb 6, 2006.

  1. Patmian212 macrumors 68020

    Patmian212

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2004
    Location:
    NYC
    #1
    Will an american NTSC xbox work on my PAL tv?
     
  2. greatdevourer macrumors 68000

    Joined:
    Aug 5, 2005
  3. Dagless macrumors Core

    Dagless

    Joined:
    Jan 18, 2005
    Location:
    Fighting to stay in the EU
    #3
    I think it will need to be modded yes. I'm not totally sure though.
     
  4. Patmian212 thread starter macrumors 68020

    Patmian212

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2004
    Location:
    NYC
    #4
    What type of modding? Can I get a simple converter for cheap?
     
  5. plinden macrumors 68040

    plinden

    Joined:
    Apr 8, 2004
    #5
    Many newer PAL TVs also support NTSC natively. So I would check your TV first.
     
  6. Patmian212 thread starter macrumors 68020

    Patmian212

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2004
    Location:
    NYC
    #6
    Do I check it on the TV or look up my model?
     
  7. liketom macrumors 601

    liketom

    Joined:
    Apr 8, 2004
    Location:
    Lincoln,UK
    #7
    do a search of the model number on the tinternet and it will tell you if it's pal/NTSC compat
     
  8. plinden macrumors 68040

    plinden

    Joined:
    Apr 8, 2004
    #8
    I'm pretty sure you'll have to look up your model - check online for "multistandard" or "multisystem" tvs.
     
  9. Dagless macrumors Core

    Dagless

    Joined:
    Jan 18, 2005
    Location:
    Fighting to stay in the EU
    #9
    One definite option is to get an Xbox VGA cable and use your computer monitor. PAL/NTSC that will work. or so I read. though I strongly recommend you mod the Xbox, it opens up a plethora of possibilities and 100% VGA compatibility is one of them.
     
  10. risc macrumors 68030

    risc

    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2004
    Location:
    Melbourne, Australia
    #10
    Any modern TV should work with the American Xbox, you just need to make sure your TV handles NTSC signals as well as PAL. If you have a HDTV you'll be in for a great time playing games at 720p something they never bought to the PAL model. :rolleyes:

    As for modding IMHO it just has to be done. I modded my Xbox and I had no interest in playing pirate games, there are just way too many great homebrew apps out there like Xbox Media Centre, all the emulators, heaps of homebrew games, oh did I mention Xbox Media Centre? If you are giong to take the time to get it modded make sure you dump a huge hard drive in it for... you guessed it Xbox Media Centre, the killer Xbox app IMO. My Xbox has (had I sold it) the Xecuter 2 (or 3) MOD chip it's a great chip since you can power the Xbox up as per normal to play online, or you can fire it up with a button press to the modded dash board and use the home brew stuff, or import games.
     
  11. Patmian212 thread starter macrumors 68020

    Patmian212

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2004
    Location:
    NYC
    #11
    I would but I have no idea where to start and I have no cash to buy parts.
     
  12. Dagless macrumors Core

    Dagless

    Joined:
    Jan 18, 2005
    Location:
    Fighting to stay in the EU
    #12
    Yea, I don't know about Madrid or anywhere like that... you may have to install the modchip yourself. though I think I heard its possible to 'mod' the Xbox without a chip now, just a DVD that overwrites something. Don't hold me to this though! just something at the back of my mind.

    Chips can be quite pricey. I paid £30 for mine. a VGA cable thing will set you back about £20. add to that all the time spent hunting around for the elusive Xbox VGA bios.

    ... yea it is a bit messy :(
     

Share This Page