Nvidia 6800 Ultra CLOSE UP PICS

Discussion in 'Games' started by Converted2Truth, Aug 5, 2004.

  1. Converted2Truth macrumors 6502a

    Converted2Truth

    Joined:
    Feb 6, 2004
    Location:
    Hell@HighAltitude
    #1
    Perhaps this should be in the hardware section... lol :eek:
    [​IMG]
    [​IMG]
    [​IMG]
    [​IMG]
    [​IMG]
    [​IMG]

    Some dude is selling this card on ebay, and he has no idea what it is IMHO.
     
  2. vraxtus macrumors 65816

    vraxtus

    Joined:
    Aug 4, 2004
    Location:
    San Francisco, CA
  3. Converted2Truth thread starter macrumors 6502a

    Converted2Truth

    Joined:
    Feb 6, 2004
    Location:
    Hell@HighAltitude
    #3
    Yeah! forget using that hard drive panel thinggy which allows for two other HD's installed there. lol
     
  4. edesignuk Moderator emeritus

    edesignuk

    Joined:
    Mar 25, 2002
    Location:
    London, England
    #4
    It's the same size as the old Appian J Pro quad cards. Bloody hell.
     
  5. applekid macrumors 68020

    Joined:
    Jul 3, 2003
    #5
    Wait, is that the Mac version of the card?

    But, yes, either way you look at it, the 6800 Ultra is a massive card. :eek:
     
  6. vraxtus macrumors 65816

    vraxtus

    Joined:
    Aug 4, 2004
    Location:
    San Francisco, CA
    #6

    May as well get an SLI :D
     
  7. Converted2Truth thread starter macrumors 6502a

    Converted2Truth

    Joined:
    Feb 6, 2004
    Location:
    Hell@HighAltitude
    #7
    Yep this is the mac version of the card... the only one that's blue. Plus, it looks just like the one that's on apples website... only this one looks longer than the great wall of china.
     
  8. NusuniAdmin macrumors 6502a

    NusuniAdmin

    Joined:
    Nov 19, 2003
    #8
    well apple did say it will block some slots and junk.....so heh...
     
  9. benpatient macrumors 68000

    Joined:
    Nov 4, 2003
    #9
    that's at least 3-4 inches longer than the PC version!

    holy crap. can't nvidia do anything elegantly?
     
  10. vraxtus macrumors 65816

    vraxtus

    Joined:
    Aug 4, 2004
    Location:
    San Francisco, CA
    #10
    Yeah, but that's a HELL of a lot bigger than my Rad9800 Pro SE :eek:
     
  11. FriarCrazy macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jul 20, 2004
    Location:
    Ames, IA/Eden Prairie, MN
    #11
    I believe its unusual length has to do with the fact that it dosen't have a power connector to plug into the Power Supply. I'm not sure about how much power goes over PCI-X, but I think that the 6800 has to be that long to support all of the extra capacators and such that it has on it to compensate for the lack of power from the Power Supply. I might be totally off base with this, so don't take my word as full truth unless someone wants to confirm.

    *Edit*
    I am an idiot, this card runs over the AGP bus. I thought that it ran over the PCI-X because if you wanted two 30" cinema displays you would need two 6800 ultras, and since there aren't two AGP slots I figured this card just ran over PCI-X. I guess you CAN'T have two 6800 Ultras. My bad. Anyhow, I still believe that its so long to accomidate the capacitors and stuff that help boost the power (Even thoug the AGP bus does have a lot of juice because its AGP Pro or whatever)
     
  12. Converted2Truth thread starter macrumors 6502a

    Converted2Truth

    Joined:
    Feb 6, 2004
    Location:
    Hell@HighAltitude
    #12
    Apple manufactures this model.
     
  13. vraxtus macrumors 65816

    vraxtus

    Joined:
    Aug 4, 2004
    Location:
    San Francisco, CA
    #13

    I think it should be alright. The Rad9800 SE was manufactured to take advantaged of the power slot built into the AGP slot. It's near the back of the card, and it would make sense that they integrated this into the 6800.
     
  14. stevehaslip macrumors 6502a

    stevehaslip

    Joined:
    Apr 30, 2004
    Location:
    The Ocean Floor
    #14
    its a seriously cool looking piece of hardware! :cool:
     
  15. NusuniAdmin macrumors 6502a

    NusuniAdmin

    Joined:
    Nov 19, 2003
    #15
    Apple designs it, nvidia manufactures it.

    In reality apple does not really manufacture anything, just designs...has their logo put on it, and puts it together. Thats about it.
     
  16. Converted2Truth thread starter macrumors 6502a

    Converted2Truth

    Joined:
    Feb 6, 2004
    Location:
    Hell@HighAltitude
    #16
    I thought that Nvidia didn't make any boards... just the GPU and chipset. That's why you can't buy an Nvidia 6800 Ultra from nivida. You have to buy from BFG/XFX/ASUS/or whatever...

    Guess i was wrong :eek:
     
  17. friarbayliff macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jul 20, 2004
    Location:
    MN / IN
    #17
    Sweet, I want that card now. I want to drool, but I'm at work and my coworkers might take it the wrong way. :p
     
  18. Ninja_Turtle macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Apr 28, 2004
    Location:
    Fullerton, California
    #18
    party

    damn...thats huge...too huge...but sometimes people like big things lol
    :p :D
     
  19. jsw Moderator emeritus

    jsw

    Joined:
    Mar 16, 2004
    Location:
    Andover, MA
    #19
    Whoa.

    I didn't want one. I don't have any use for one. I can't afford one.

    But... it's so beautiful.

    I... must... have... one.
     
  20. JOD8FY macrumors 6502a

    JOD8FY

    Joined:
    Mar 22, 2004
    Location:
    United States
    #20
    I have a 12" Rev. B PB with only 32 MB of VRAM :(. I was wondering if there was any way that I might be able to put this card in some sort of external enclosure. I doubt there's anything out there that could do this, but if there is...

    JOD8FY
     
  21. vraxtus macrumors 65816

    vraxtus

    Joined:
    Aug 4, 2004
    Location:
    San Francisco, CA
    #21

    LOL.

    Even if there was you'd have a horrible CPU bottleneck... basically making the purchase not worth it at all.
     
  22. NusuniAdmin macrumors 6502a

    NusuniAdmin

    Joined:
    Nov 19, 2003
    #22
    the only reason it will run on the g5 is because it needs extreme bus speeds and extremely high bandwidth between the various computing stages....like between the card and the processor.
     
  23. FriarCrazy macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jul 20, 2004
    Location:
    Ames, IA/Eden Prairie, MN
    #23
    That would be akin to putting a Ferrari engine in a sidecar on a Geo Metro.
     
  24. PlatinumBlade macrumors member

    PlatinumBlade

    Joined:
    Jul 17, 2004
    Location:
    Lansing, MI
    #24
    Fairly upset...

    I've got one of those on the way right now and I'm fairly upset about it. For some reason I was thinking the Apple version was a PCI-X card. But we all know it is an AGP8X. I wonder if Apple will even produce a PCI-X version. Does anyone know?

    I guess I shouldn't worry too much as the AGP8X version should still be amazing compared to the Radeon 9600XT I have right now.

    On a side note...

    Doom 3 beats the heck out of my PC. I have to run with Low detail settings for things to be smooth at 1024X768 res.

    I thought I'd mention this for anyone wondering about Doom3.

    My PC is a 3.06GHz P4 with 1GB of RAM and a Radeon 9700 Pro.
     
  25. iceTrX macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Aug 5, 2004
    Location:
    Outside of Detroit.
    #25
    nVidia DOES not manufacture ANY boards, they only produce video chipsets which are fabricated by companies like Taiwan Semiconductor and IBM . nVidia designs reference boards that 3rd party manufactures can base their cards on, but nVidia does not currently manufacture any boards. The Mac 6800 is probably designed by apple being slightly based off the nVidia 6800 Ultra reference card and manufactured by some foreign manufacture under contract from Apple.
     

Share This Page