NVIDIA GeForce and PowerMac G5 Question

Discussion in 'Buying Tips, Advice and Discussion (archive)' started by Mac2004, Jul 3, 2004.

1. Mac2004 macrumors regular

I'm fairly new to computers but why would anyone have to update their video card from a NVIDIA GeForce FX 5200 Ultra to a ATI 9600? I have seen a lot of postings regarding this. So what you are all saying is that the video card that's currently in the 1.8 PowerMac G5 is crappy?? Why would a person need to upgrade this video/graphics card? I'm not a real big game player and I don't do video editing at this time. I plan on using my computer for Internet, email, AppleWorks, Word, accounting, web cam, etc. Would I need to upgrade to ATI 9600 if I get a new PowerMac G5 computer?

I plan on getting a new PowerMac next week but I need to know if I need to upgrade anything (hard drive, video card, etc.) I plan on getting the dual 1.8 and a new Apple 20" monitor. Is the 80GB hard drive sufficient??

I wanted to get an iMac but everyone tells me not to get one now. I can't wait until September either. Are the current ones any good?

2. Jigglelicious macrumors 6502

Jigglelicious

If all you're doing is the typical web browsing/email/word processing, then the default graphic card would be more than enough. However, I must ask, if thats all you're going to be doing, why purchase an expensive Powermac, when something like an eMac will do it with no problem at all? Hell, even an old G3 iMac would be able to perform those functions without fail. Forgive me, but it just seems like a waste in both power and money to get a powermac for something so basic like internet/email.

3. JOD8FY macrumors 6502a

JOD8FY

There's no need for you to upgrade anything for your purposes. If you wanted an iMac, or you wanted to save money by buying an iMac, there might still be a few stores that have them in stock. Search quickly, I'm sure there are very few left.

Good luck,
    JOD8FY

4. Mac2004 thread starter macrumors regular