NYC marathon 2006

Discussion in 'Community Discussion' started by Don't panic, Oct 17, 2006.

1. Don't panic macrumors 603

Don't panic

I’ll be running the NYC marathon this year.
    I am a novice so the goal is finishing. I even got myself a nano, a nike+ thingy and the marsware armband/shoepouch to use it with my shoes.
    Is anyone else running it or has run it in the past?
    Any tips?
    Is important to wear tight fitting gear? Taping nipples? What do you do to prevent blisters? did you bring your cell phone? I’d like to, to coordinate randezvous with family, but how do you carry it (pocket, pouch, beltclip)

Also I have a curiosity about the ‘actual length’ of the marathon. It’s supposed to be 26 miles/42.2Kms. but how is it measured on the course. It clearly makes a lot of difference if you use the inside of the curve or the outside (think the 400m start in a track), and runners, especially the (5+ hours ones) will go anything but in a perfect straight line.
    Has anyone calculated what is the actual mileage run?

2. xsedrinam macrumors 601

xsedrinam

Congrats on your goal, Don't panic. Since this is your first, you've probably read a boatload of books and articles on training and preparation. This Marathon Guide has some good helps.

I've found for friction prevention, good ol' fashioned Vaseline (a healthy smattering on nips, inner thighs and even on toes) helps.

It's 26.2 miles through the 5 boroughs of Staten Island, Brooklyn, Queens, the Bronx and Manhattan, finishing up in Central Park at the Tavern on the Green. (At least it used to be that way)

Looks like you're poised to enjoy the experience, which is good. After 21 miles, there are no singing of the birds, for the first timer, so your music should help, but not nearly as much as a good training base for at least 8 weeks prior.

Best of luck.

3. freeny macrumors 68020

freeny