Oblivion help on parallels!

Discussion in 'Mac and PC Games' started by coledog, May 10, 2007.

  1. macrumors 6502a

    coledog

    Joined:
    Nov 14, 2006
    Location:
    Adirondacks
    #1
    Hey everyone,
    Yesterday i installed Oblivion on XP through Parallels. When I tried to run it i got this error message:
    "Failed to initialize renderer. NiXAdapterDesc::GetDeviceCaps()failed."

    Any ideas whats happening and how to fix it? I don't really want to try Bootcamp because I wasn't too impressed with it the last time i tried.

    Thanks!
     
  2. macrumors 6502

    iancapable

    Joined:
    Oct 4, 2006
    Location:
    London, United Kingdom
    #2
    Are you serious?

    Parallels is a virtual machine, it has not got 3d acceleration yet... Try bootcamp.
     
  3. macrumors 6502a

    lancestraz

    Joined:
    Nov 27, 2005
    Location:
    RI
    #3
    I saw this thread and laughed.
    Hee hee. You're a funny guy coledog. Hee hee.
     
  4. thread starter macrumors 6502a

    coledog

    Joined:
    Nov 14, 2006
    Location:
    Adirondacks
    #4
    As you can see I am either a Windows guy or a Mac guy, but I'm not a Windows on Mac guy...thanks for setting me straight!
     
  5. macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Aug 5, 2006
    #5
    Could you let us know how well it runs in bootcamp when you get it going? I imagine it will run well with your MBP....more curious of the graphics on a MB.
     
  6. macrumors 68020

    pknz

    Joined:
    Mar 22, 2005
    Location:
    NZ
    #6
    Ok I get the same error, has anyone got Oblivion to work on Parallels? Im using Parallels 3.
     
  7. macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Jan 13, 2004
    Location:
    UK
    #7
    IIRC, Oblivion is DX9. Despite Parallels' blurb, they don't support 9 yet.
     
  8. macrumors regular

    user13

    Joined:
    Dec 22, 2006
    #8
    Parallels supports DX 8.1 that's why Oblivion will not run. In BootCamp it should work fine. Parallels team currently is said to be working on better 3d support.
     
  9. macrumors 65816

    Sbrocket

    Joined:
    Jun 3, 2007
    Location:
    /dev/null
    #9
    I don't see how you can be "not impressed with Boot Camp" given that it is nothing special other than some BIOS emulation and repackaged drivers. In other words, you're running Windows natively on your hardware so if you're unimpressed...you should be mad at Windows, not Boot Camp.

    And why would you think a virtual machine would have better graphics performance than a native OS? :confused:
     
  10. macrumors 68040

    Joined:
    Dec 13, 2004
    #10
    lol.....

    oblivion probably has the highest system requirements of any game I can think of..

    bootcamp not parallels
     
  11. macrumors regular

    user13

    Joined:
    Dec 22, 2006
    #11
    I agree.
    Even if Oblivion would work under Parallels, you would need not less than 3 Gigs of RAM to get it to work. Boot Camp is the option, because in Boot Camp Windows uses all the system resources.
     
  12. macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2007
    #12
    Oblivion Won't Work with Boot Camp on Santa Ros

    I saw the postings for Oblivion not working with Parallels, but I installed Boot Camp and Windows XP and loaded Oblviion and got the same NiXAdapterDesc::GetDeviceCaps()failed. that someone here reported on Parallels. Can I get some help on this?
     
  13. macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jul 15, 2007
    #13
    I'm having the same issue....

    I've installed Boot Camp on my MacBook, along with Windows XP, and the most recent NVidia driver. I'm getting the same "Failed to initialize renderer" error that was described above. The game crashes just after clicking Play in the Oblivion launcher. Is there any way to resolve this problem?
     
  14. macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jun 5, 2007
    #14
    playing oblivion requires a high end video card and a lot of RAM, anyway that error message sounds like a video card driver issue.you may want to make sure you have the lastest video card driver and the lastest patches for oblivion installed.
    but seriously playing oblivion on a mac pro through parallel or bootcamp is going to make the game freeze a lot.just play it on the Xbox360 to enjoy the gaming experience
     
  15. macrumors 6502a

    EvilDoc

    Joined:
    Jun 30, 2005
    Location:
    Circumventing the multi-verse...
    #15
    I played oblivion on my iMac 20inch 2ghz and i had to turn the DETAIL way down. And if you have ever seen Oblivion on the 360 it will be a huge let down, and like others have state the game will chug if your not on a high end system...
     
  16. macrumors regular

    user13

    Joined:
    Dec 22, 2006
    #16
    Unfortunately I don't think I'll buy a good PC just to run Oblivion. Parallels is also not a way out. The way out is - a lot of RAM + Boot Camp
     
  17. macrumors 603

    whooleytoo

    Joined:
    Aug 2, 2002
    Location:
    Cork, Ireland.
    #17
    Playing Oblivion on a 360 is also a good way to make the game freeze or stutter a lot. From what I can see, there's hardly a machine around that can play this game without hiccoughs.
     
  18. mim
    macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Apr 24, 2003
    Location:
    flesh, melbourne.... heart, london
    #18
    I've got a 3ghz Mac pro (although with the 7300GT) and Oblivion runs terribly. I've been waiting for the successor to the X1900, but it's been a long time coming (and I don't want a $600 upgrade just to play Oblivion...).
     
  19. mim
    macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Apr 24, 2003
    Location:
    flesh, melbourne.... heart, london
    #19
    Oh...and I agree about the 360 - even that doesn't handle it well. Anyone seen it on a PS3?
     
  20. macrumors 6502a

    quackattack

    Joined:
    Aug 13, 2004
    Location:
    Boise, ID
    #20
    The PS3 handles it quite well. It is very smooth, and I have only seen it struggle a few times in the hours (weeks... months...:eek:) I have invested in it. Usually only for a second or two when you are first getting into a very populated area.

    The graphics are outstanding as well!
     
  21. macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jun 15, 2007
    Location:
    Allen, TX
    #21
    I have a 2.2 ghz SR MBP and it runs ok on almost all high settings (lags alittle in the forrests though). I'm still working on settings to get the best perform out of it. all in all it runs fine:)
     

Share This Page