Odd Handbrake issue

Discussion in 'Mac Applications and Mac App Store' started by timmyb, Mar 28, 2007.

  1. macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Feb 2, 2005
    Location:
    United Kingdom
    #1
    I am trying to rip Casino Royale to my laptop so that i can watch it on my iPod. I have ripped many dvds without problems in the past, but something strange is happening this time round. I make all the necessary settings, choosing the main feature, (about 2h18min,) and set the target size to 750mb etc and then click 'rip'. All things start well, but the ripping stops after about a minute. Upon playing the .mp4 file, all it has on it is the traditional MGM & Colombia introductions and that is it.

    I have repeated the process 3 times with the same outcome. Does anyone have any idea about what on earth is going on?
     
  2. macrumors 68000

    epochblue

    Joined:
    Aug 12, 2005
    Location:
    Nashville, TN
    #2
    It could be an issue with newer "tricks" on the disc. Newer discs have some newer things on them (like intentionally bad segments, for example) that can trip up some rippers. It's likely that you're running into one of those. Submit the bug to the Handbrake project so they can get a fix for it into the next version :)
     
  3. macrumors 68030

    Joined:
    Nov 17, 2004
    Location:
    The Msp
    #3
    Yeah, it's most likely some security thing built into the DVD. Companies will purposely put in bad sectors and fake parts into DVD's to stop copying. I know the new MacTheRipper beta has some workarounds for that kind of thing.
     
  4. macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Aug 13, 2003
    Location:
    Thunder Bay, ON
    #4
    The newest MacTheRipper should work (3.0b14???) - then open the video_ts folder in HandBrake.
     
  5. thread starter macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Feb 2, 2005
    Location:
    United Kingdom
    #5
    If I use MacTheRipper, how do I make the file smaller? Using Handbrake i can adjust it for iPod size, (meaning it's 750MB,) but for MTR it's going to be 6.89GB!
     
  6. macrumors 68000

    epochblue

    Joined:
    Aug 12, 2005
    Location:
    Nashville, TN
    #6
    Are you using Handbrake or Instant Handbrake? Big-Boy Handbrake can open VIDEO_TS files, even if they aren't on a DVD.

    So, like the poster's above me said, if you can find the newest MTR, use it to rip the movie and use Handbrake to compress it.
     
  7. thread starter macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Feb 2, 2005
    Location:
    United Kingdom
    #7
    Will do. Thanks for all the advice.
     
  8. macrumors 65816

    bmcgonag

    Joined:
    Mar 20, 2007
    Location:
    Texas
    #8
    I think if you search this particular movie name on this forum, someone else posted the same issue, and a reply had a possible fix, not using handbrake, but wome other osftware.

    Brian
     
  9. macrumors 68030

    princealfie

    Joined:
    Mar 7, 2006
    Location:
    Salt Lake City UT
    #9
    I had problems with ripping Casino Royale. Blame it on Sony DVD's. Honestly lately all of the Sony DVD's had to be ripped using Magic DVD on a PC! Arghhhh!!!!
     
  10. macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2002
    Location:
    Chicago, IL
    #10
    simple fix

    one simple fix albeit not necessarily ideal is to set handbrake to only compress chapters 2-last chapter, the "bug" is usually in the 1st chapter. again, not ideal, but sometimes the first chapter is just the credits.
     
  11. macrumors 68020

    pdpfilms

    Joined:
    Jun 29, 2004
    Location:
    Vermontana
    #11
    I've ripped almost 200 movies, and I'd say over 80% of Sony DVDs produced after 2003 do the same thing. Some can't even be read by Handbrake (Capote, etc.).
     

Share This Page