Odd RAM amount

Discussion in 'Buying Tips and Advice' started by MacHarne, Mar 22, 2006.

  1. MacHarne macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Mar 3, 2005
    Location:
    Virginia, U.S.A.
    #1
    Before I make this purchase, I wanted to make sure I wasn't making a false assumption.

    I am upgrading a PowerMac G4 MDD from 1GB RAM (in a 512 + 256 + 128 + 128 MB setup) to 1.768 MB (as a 512 + 512 + 512 + 256 MB). Is that latter combination feasible? I've not seen that specific amount ever in the past but I have no found no Apple documentation online to warn me that it would not work.

    I am simply hoping to save some cash and not grab a third 512 MB stick. Thanks for the input.
     
  2. idea_hamster macrumors 65816

    idea_hamster

    Joined:
    Jul 11, 2003
    Location:
    NYC, or thereabouts
    #2
    Yeah, it's fine.

    I had an old PM back in 1998 with 768 MB of RAM -- but it only had two slots. Adding two more 512's technically gives you 1796 MB, but the 2x512 are commonly referred to as 1GB.

    The only concern would be the whole installed-in-pairs issue, but if you've got it working with 512+256+128+128, then 512+512+512+256 should be fine too.
     
  3. mrichmon macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Jun 17, 2003
    #3
    Google is yoru friend. http://tuvix.apple.com/documentatio...e_ref/doc/uid/TP40000928-TP30000306-TPXREF102

    Yes, the configuration you mention will work.
     
  4. MacHarne thread starter macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Mar 3, 2005
    Location:
    Virginia, U.S.A.
    #4
    I thank you both. mrichmon, that's the same document I was looking at a few minutes ago, but I didn't spot anything specifically telling me to avoid the 512+512+512+256 combination. Then again, the current setup is strange, too. (And I don't think the installing in pairs bit would concern me since my performance needs are only so demanding).

    Thanks for the quick replies.
     
  5. mrichmon macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Jun 17, 2003
    #5
    The document specifically states that there are no performance gains to be had by installing in pairs.
     
  6. trogdor! macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Mar 7, 2006
    #6
    I think that should work just fine. I see no reason why it wouldnt.
     

Share This Page