Office 2007 hardly uses ANY ram!!

Discussion in 'Community Discussion' started by Sean7512, Jul 14, 2006.

  1. Sean7512 macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Jun 8, 2005
    #1
    On the download page of the Office 2007 Beta 2, if you click on System Requirements, if informs you that you need ..."For running Microsoft Office Outlook 2007 Beta-2 with Business Contact Manager, a PC is recommend with a processor 1 GHz and 512 KB of RAM or higher." :D

    Wow, Microsoft has been hard at work to minimize the computer resources....If only it were true...:p

    Here is a screenshot anyways..
     

    Attached Files:

  2. Nermal Moderator

    Nermal

    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Dec 7, 2002
    Location:
    New Zealand
    #2
    Such bloatware! I used to run Lotus Allways on a 512 KB system and had plenty left over!
     
  3. sushi Moderator emeritus

    sushi

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2002
    Location:
    キャンプスワ&#
    #3
    Funny!

    I am sure they meant 512MB of RAM. That's unbelievable!

    I suppose it won't be too long were 2GB of RAM is the minimum standard. ;)
     
  4. yg17 macrumors G5

    yg17

    Joined:
    Aug 1, 2004
    Location:
    St. Louis, MO
    #4
    Well, obviously they mean 512 megs RAM. So this begs the question:

    I know in the computer world, 512 megs is nothing. But Office requires that much? Maybe for power point or access I could see, but typing up a paper in Word shouldn't require that much.
     
  5. BlizzardBomb macrumors 68030

    BlizzardBomb

    Joined:
    Jun 15, 2005
    Location:
    England
    #5
    Well it says recommended not minimum so I suppose it is reasonable, it will probably be refined closer to release as well.
     
  6. macEfan macrumors 65816

    macEfan

    Joined:
    Apr 7, 2005
    Location:
    Forbidden, you do not have access to that server
    #6
    heh MAYBE they residesigned the program to be more efficient :D Nah, they just meant 512mb ram ..
     
  7. sushi Moderator emeritus

    sushi

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2002
    Location:
    キャンプスワ&#
    #7
    Unfortunately, bloatware is here to stay.

    I remember the early days of the Mac when many programs were done in assembly language. Of course back then, the Mac SE could be expanded to 4MB of RAM and HDs were a huge 20MB! ;)
     
  8. Abstract macrumors Penryn

    Abstract

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2002
    Location:
    Location Location Location
    #8
    OMFG! MS mad ea mistake LOL!!1!!on!e!!!eleven!
     
  9. stubeeef macrumors 68030

    stubeeef

    Joined:
    Aug 10, 2004
    #9
    Well, since it is as delayed as Vista, don't count your RAM yet. By release it could be a terabyte.:p
     
  10. Electro Funk macrumors 65816

    Electro Funk

    Joined:
    Dec 8, 2005
    Location:
    The Opium Garden
    #10
    speaking of bloat... i DL'd the beta today...

    office 2007 pro
    visio pro
    project pro
    Groove
    one note
    share point

    taking up almost 6 gigs of space after installed :eek:
     

Share This Page