office 98 in os 10?

Discussion in 'Mac Apps and Mac App Store' started by BodaciousBBQ, Jul 19, 2003.

  1. BodaciousBBQ macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2003
    Location:
    Phiily
    #1
    I have a chance to buy an unopened version of office 98 for about about $50. This is a "special edition" designed for iBooks. It seems to have everything I would need ( and is far better than Appleworks ). But I am a total newbie... a mac owner for just 2 days... It states that it requires OS8.4 I believe. In any case can I assume that it would work on my iBook, which allows for OS9 programs?

    14" iBook, 900MHz, 640k

    Thanks. Chuck
     
  2. Horrortaxi macrumors 68020

    Horrortaxi

    Joined:
    Jul 6, 2003
    Location:
    Los Angeles
    #2
    It should run, but it will do it in Classic Mode.
     
  3. raschild macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jul 1, 2002
    Location:
    Good ol' US of A
    #3
    MS Office 98

    I have Office 98 on my iMac running OS 10.2. It will work fine, but it does run in classic. This works, but it just takes longer to launch.
     
  4. shakespeare macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Apr 29, 2002
    Location:
    Portland, Maine
    #4
    Technically, yes, it'll work, but I have found Office 98 for Mac almost unuseable in its bugginess and clunkiness. If you can spring for something any newer than that, do it. Sometimes eBay may have cheaper prices.
     
  5. fmaier macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jul 21, 2003
    #5
    For $50 I would get it. I use Office 98 in classic mode under 10.2.6.

    I use Excel about 3 times a week and much more at year end for tax info.
    I use Powerpoint twice a week to create a slide for song words at church. All this in Office 98. I have an old- slow 350 mhz G4 and it moves pretty fast.

    The only thing is when you boot up, classic has to start which takes a little more time. But I leave mine running 24/7 so I don't worry about bootup time.

    javascript:smilie(':)')
    Fred
     
  6. Horrortaxi macrumors 68020

    Horrortaxi

    Joined:
    Jul 6, 2003
    Location:
    Los Angeles
    #7
    You can turn off most of the extensions for classic--most of them don't work anyway. It saves some time--I've got classic starting in just about 10 soconds.
     

Share This Page