Office for MAC?

Discussion in 'Buying Tips, Advice and Discussion (archive)' started by queshy, Apr 5, 2005.

  1. queshy macrumors 68040

    queshy

    Joined:
    Apr 2, 2005
    #1
    Hi, I 'm thinkign about getting a powerbook for colleg ewith Office Mac. I am a sceicne student - does it have Microsoft Equation editor 3. 0 ? OR somethign similar ? thanks
     
  2. mkrishnan Moderator emeritus

    mkrishnan

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2004
    Location:
    Grand Rapids, MI, USA
    #2
    It's been a while since I inserted an equation in a document, but yes, Office 2004 has equation editor. It's listed as Equation Editor 2004 for Mac, so I don't know exactly how it compares, but it seems similar to what I remember on PCs.... Screenshot (click for bigger pic):

    [​IMG]
     
  3. queshy thread starter macrumors 68040

    queshy

    Joined:
    Apr 2, 2005
    #3
    Ah , perfect. From what I can see, it's no different then it's office xp sibling. Thanks for the screenshot !!
     
  4. Nuc macrumors 6502a

    Nuc

    Joined:
    Jan 20, 2003
    Location:
    TN
    #4
    Math Type 5.1

    If you use equation editor a lot then try out Math Type 5.1. It has academic pricing as well. Kind of pricey but saves a lot of time usually.... Includes a lot more functions. Try out the 30 day demo.

    Math Type 5.1

    Nuc
     
  5. ColoJohnBoy macrumors 65816

    ColoJohnBoy

    Joined:
    Mar 10, 2003
    Location:
    Denver, Colorado
    #5
    I'm surprised nobody has yet flamed you and explained the difference between 'MAC' and 'Mac'. Just a observation. :)
     
  6. mad jew Moderator emeritus

    mad jew

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2004
    Location:
    Adelaide, Australia
    #6
    It could be because he's a newbie... ;)

    BTW, I reckon the equation editor is an absolute godsend. Unfortunately, it took me three years of an engineering degree before I worked out it existed. :mad: My bad, if only there was a site that went through all these little tidbits of info, sure there are heaps for OSX, but we need some for specific programs. Or is it just that I'm really unobservant? :p
     
  7. mkrishnan Moderator emeritus

    mkrishnan

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2004
    Location:
    Grand Rapids, MI, USA
    #7
    No, don't feel too bad. In older versions of Word, it was a much more obvious feature, IIRC. And then more recently it's been relegated to a tiny corner of "Insert Object." I remember I used it in my first year of engineering undergrad to write physics lab reports. Ahhhh, those were the days.
     
  8. queshy thread starter macrumors 68040

    queshy

    Joined:
    Apr 2, 2005
    #8
    Heh, I know it's Mac, I was just in a rush when I was posting , it is NOT "MAC"
     

Share This Page