Office Mac 2011 - Max Activation

Discussion in 'Mac Applications and Mac App Store' started by DarkoDonnie, Jul 16, 2013.

  1. macrumors member

    DarkoDonnie

    Joined:
    Jun 18, 2013
    #1
    I bought copy of office for my home and office iMacs.

    Licences good for 2 users. So both computers activated fine.

    I traded in iMac's for a retina macbook pro.

    I reformatted both iMac's clean for resale.

    I setup new rMBP, try to add Office, getting:

    So i tried their phone activation twice (which involves entering a 48 key ID). The machine hung up on me after i entered the numbers.

    Why does microsoft hate me.

    I know it's so stereotypical to bash microsoft, but I get so angry at these over-looked usability issues. I've dumped 45min into this already and am so frusterated.

    Anyone experience this, with office 2011. What number did you call? I can't even find a phone number on the microsoft website.. the things so hard to use.
     
  2. TEG
    macrumors 604

    TEG

    Joined:
    Jan 21, 2002
    Location:
    Langley, Washington
    #2
    I've had a similar issue in the past. I usually have to just press all zeros to get someone to come on the line, explain the situation, and they clear the issue.
     
  3. macrumors regular

    cledet

    Joined:
    Mar 26, 2012
    Location:
    San Francisco, CA
    #3
    Yeah, if I recall correctly. There isn't a way to deactivate your Office 2011 on your computer. Unless, of course, you have an Office 385 subscription. Just call them up again, spam 0 until you get an actual person. They'll remove the activations for you.
     
  4. macrumors 68020

    KUguardgrl13

    Joined:
    May 16, 2013
    Location:
    Kansas, USA
    #4
    If you have a Microsoft store in your area they will correct software issues. Unfortunately they will touch your computer and probably mess something up. My boyfriend had issues installing a new license of 365 on a brand new Lenovo and then it somehow started blue screening.
     
  5. b9k
    macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jul 16, 2013
    #5
    I had the same issue. Had it with Windows XP (a full paid Professional version) as well back in the days when I was still using that.

    At some point I had enough of calling Microsoft every time because of this rather customer unfriendly "feature".
    For both Office and Windows I ended up using a crack. Or replacing their software. That's how the customer chooses. Bye bye MS. Welcome :apple: :D
     
  6. thread starter macrumors member

    DarkoDonnie

    Joined:
    Jun 18, 2013
    #6
    Thanks for the advice and shared experiences.

    I did the "0 0 0 0 0 " thing and get a "activation specialist" from across the globe..

    He said I had to tell him the "Install ID" which was a 48 character string... Repeat. I had to vocally give a 48 character string of numbers over the phone.

    After ranting about really having to give him this crazy number. I used the osx's speech tool instead of reading.

    He said it was to quick.

    I tried it again slower, he said it was too quick.

    It might of been quick, but I couldn't bring myself to that level of non-usability.

    Anyways, I finally dropped my values and read it.

    Then he said:

     

Share This Page