Office solutions for MAC and other platforms

Discussion in 'Buying Tips, Advice and Discussion (archive)' started by ionas, Mar 28, 2004.

1. ionas macrumors regular

Hi, I am a student that will switch to a Mac for part-time-job and studying.
    I need an office solutions for MAC and other platforms; the following criteria are important to me:

Open, edit and write MS Word and MS Exel files (Office 95/97/2000/XP/...)

Write scientific texts (automatic table of contents, footnotes, line height, printer friendly formats(what you see is what you print, see LaTex and so on)

Save files as PDF documents

Save files as HTML

Mostly stable and bugfree (end

Cheap Price or for free

Nice to have(n2h): Save files as HTmL 3.2, HTmL 4.0/CSS 1, XHTmL 1.1 / CSS 2

n2h: Tight/Native GUI integration into the parent OS GUI

n2h: Available on any platform ("any" means Linux x86/Linux PPC, BSD x86/BSD PPC, Mac OS X, Windows)

n2h: Open Source

n2h: GPL/LGPL Liscense

n2h: Multilingual (English, Frensh, Spanish, German, Chinese)

n2h: Spelling correction (maybe as well multilingual)

n2h: Open StarOffice / OpenOffice documents

Anyone knows such an application?
    Anyone can compare some existing applications and tell me which one mostly offers what I need?

2. jsw Moderator emeritus

jsw

Well, if you get a consumer-line Mac (iXXX or eXXX), you'll get AppleWorks included, which meets a lot of your needs and, by being included, is essentially free.

And Open Office will meet most of your other needs.

I don't off-hand know of any good, free, math/science apps.

3. mrgreen4242 macrumors 601

mrgreen4242

I'm a big OpenOffice fan, and hough I haven't tried, it OOo 1.0.3 for Mac X11 is supposed to be very stable and ready for prime time so to speak. (I use OOo for Windows/Linux, but haven't for the mac yet).

So, here is your list, with what OOo can do...

Open, edit and write MS Word and MS Exel files (Office 95/97/2000/XP/...) - Can do all of these.