Office365Service Errors

Discussion in 'Mac Applications and Mac App Store' started by jdag, Feb 5, 2013.

  1. macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jun 15, 2012
    #1
    Since the latest update to MS Office, about a week ago, I have been getting Office365Service Errors. Please see the attached.

    I am on OS X 10.8.2 and MS Office 2011 14.3.0. I have not made any other system changes.

    Anyone else seeing such an error? Any fixes? I did some web searching with no luck.

    Thanks, John
     

    Attached Files:

  2. macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Feb 25, 2010
    #2
    I'm getting the same error and found your post while searching for either a solution or a way to remove the Office365Service. I have a license for the standalone version of Office and have no interest in 365 or running any new services required to support it. Hopefully it can be removed and/or disabled without breaking the operation of the local programs.
     
  3. thread starter macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jun 15, 2012
    #3
    Same here...I should have mentioned that I have the stand-alone version installed.
     
  4. macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Feb 8, 2013
    #4
    I'm also getting the same error message. It's been going on for nearly two weeks now and it's annoying!
     
  5. macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Jul 10, 2008
    Location:
    Orlando, Florida
    #5
    It was my understanding that if you wanted to run Office 365 and had Office for Mac 2011 installed already, you would need to uninstall the standalone version and reinstall the version by downloading it from Office 365. They otherwise, do not work together.
     
  6. MRU
    macrumors demi-god

    MRU

    Joined:
    Aug 23, 2005
    Location:
    Ireland
    #6
    I believe so.
     
  7. thread starter macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jun 15, 2012
    #7
    But I didn't do a thing...other than whatever update MS Office updated did automatically.
     
  8. MRU
    macrumors demi-god

    MRU

    Joined:
    Aug 23, 2005
    Location:
    Ireland
    #8
    Can you post what is in the 'more information' section of the error ?
     
  9. thread starter macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jun 15, 2012
    #9
    It is super long...I've had to attach as a text file as this board will not allow a post of 20,000+ characters. Here's the beginning of it. See attached for full details.



    Microsoft Error Reporting log version: 2.0

    Error Signature:
    Exception: EXC_BAD_ACCESS
    Date/Time: 2013-02-09 11:33:44 +0000
    Application Name: Office365Service
    Application Bundle ID: com.microsoft.Office365Service
    Application Signature: O365
    Application Version: 14.3.0.121105
    Crashed Module Name: Security
    Crashed Module Version: 55179.1
    Crashed Module Offset: 0x00012d75
    Blame Module Name: Office365Service
    Blame Module Version: 14.3.0.121105
    Blame Module Offset: 0x00011989
    Application LCID: 0
    Extra app info: Reg=English Loc=0x0000
    Crashed thread: 8
     

    Attached Files:

  10. MRU
    macrumors demi-god

    MRU

    Joined:
    Aug 23, 2005
    Location:
    Ireland
    #10
    Thanks... I'll see if any of the other MVPS for Office For Mac might have a clue.

    But seems security related

    "Crashed Module Name: Security"...

    Was the version of Office for Mac 2011 installed on the computer currently downloaded after you got Office 365 or was it downloaded prior and I have to ask is it legit. I ask because that error could indicate it see's a non valid version of Office 2011 installed.
     
  11. thread starter macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jun 15, 2012
    #11
    I really appreciate your help!

    The version of Office has been on this Mac for 2 years or so. It is definitely legit. I bought a 3 pack and have a copy installed on my iMac, my wife's MBA, and my son's MBP.

    All 3 installations have been in use for ~2 years and I just started receiving these errors on my iMac after the most recent MS update, which I believe was the day of their Office 365 announcement.
     
  12. MRU, Feb 9, 2013
    Last edited: Feb 9, 2013

    MRU
    macrumors demi-god

    MRU

    Joined:
    Aug 23, 2005
    Location:
    Ireland
    #12
    No problem I needed to check.

    I've group messaged the Macintosh MVP's to see if anyone has come across the issue and included the error code to see if they can maybe decipher it.

    I'll update you if they have any suggestions.


    I assume you have done all the usual fixes - repaired permissions in Disk Utility and such.



    edit__________

    Have you actually activated your Office 365 on your mac with Office 2011 and your Microsoft account

    https://login.live.com/login.srf?wa...1F665DDFA553DC68A65C5D&ipt=1&lc=1033&id=34134
     
  13. jdag, Feb 9, 2013
    Last edited: Feb 9, 2013

    thread starter macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jun 15, 2012
    #13
    I have verified/repaired disk permissions. Also, I just went to that URL and get this message: "It looks like you don’t have Office yet. Do you want to visit the Store to get a copy?"

    That's simply not the case...I do have Office 2011. I don't have 365, and have no reason to upgrade to it.

    This is pretty typical I suppose. I am not the only one with the problem (see link below) and honestly don't have the time to sort through it with MS. I hope it is corrected in the next update.

    http://answers.microsoft.com/en-us/...-problem/273c669c-b1cf-472a-9a84-12b76e77683d

    http://answers.microsoft.com/en-us/...it-crash/c017572b-16cb-4778-8815-f7a4b319551e

    http://answers.microsoft.com/en-us/...messages/1ff19aa0-f35e-4c08-9387-b42213ec4ef1
     
  14. MRU, Feb 9, 2013
    Last edited: Feb 9, 2013

    MRU
    macrumors demi-god

    MRU

    Joined:
    Aug 23, 2005
    Location:
    Ireland
    #14
    Oh right. Sorry I assumed you have Office 365 installed and you were having a problem with Office 365.

    Ok well that dramatically changes things.



    So just got response to the error log file and its definitely is a bug in the Office365 code.

    One of the other MVP's suggest it appears "Office365Service has gone mad and tried to address something outside its permitted perimeter, or write to a read-only section. "

    I've submitted a bug report for you.



    Have you tried the temporary solution of disabling Office365service in Utilities>Activity Monitor ? Not ideal I know, if I get any other info in relation to this I'll keep you updated jdag...

    MRU..
     
  15. thread starter macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jun 15, 2012
    #15
    I didn't think that there was actually an Office 365 for Mac yet. Just Office 2011, but with the ability to licence annually.

    Anyhow, I am perfectly content with 2011...just hate the error messages!
     
  16. macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2013
    #16
    Disabling causes Excel and Word to crash.
     
  17. macrumors member

    Joined:
    Sep 8, 2010
    #17
    Exactly, so that I reverted to previous version by Time Machine.
     
  18. macrumors newbie

    Amadeus71

    Joined:
    Feb 12, 2013
    #18
    Not an isolated incident

    I just want to give you guys the heads-up that the above doesn't seem to be an isolated incident. I have the same problem with a Office for Mac 2011 version that since the last Office Update seems to somehow incorporate Office365 bugs.

    Same error dialogue as above, same content in the error reporting log. I have sent the error log to Microsoft about 15 times so far (each time it happens), very frustrated here.
     
  19. MRU
    macrumors demi-god

    MRU

    Joined:
    Aug 23, 2005
    Location:
    Ireland
  20. macrumors newbie

    Amadeus71

    Joined:
    Feb 12, 2013
    #20
    Thank you

    I'll give it a shot; thanks a lot !
     
  21. macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Dec 29, 2007
    #21
    Thank you!

    I spent half the night trying to figure out how to dump the 365 error, even to the extent that I located the hidden 365 app and deleted it. Guess I should have waited until MS fessed up to the crash. I just loaded the update and everything is wonderful.:)

    Thanks again,
    Jon


     
  22. thread starter macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jun 15, 2012
    #22
    The MS update does appear to have solved this problem.
     
  23. MRU
    macrumors demi-god

    MRU

    Joined:
    Aug 23, 2005
    Location:
    Ireland
    #23
    Have you tried removing office completely and re-installing ?
     
  24. thread starter macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jun 15, 2012
    #24

    You misread...the MS update APPEARS to have SOLVED the problem. I am all set I think.
     
  25. MRU
    macrumors demi-god

    MRU

    Joined:
    Aug 23, 2005
    Location:
    Ireland
    #25
    Lol. Your right I did misread it. Thank goodness ;-) :)
     

Share This Page