Official Aperture Screenshot Thread

Discussion in 'Mac Apps and Mac App Store' started by iGary, Nov 29, 2005.

  1. iGary Guest

    iGary

    Joined:
    May 26, 2004
    Location:
    Randy's House
    #1
    Here - I put them all in one:

    This is the light table where you can pull up image thumbnails straight form the bottom filmstrip and size them and compare them on the fly. This light table is specific to each folder you are working on, and gets saved just like an album in iPhoto, so you do not have to re-do it all over again if you want to come back and work on the images:

    [​IMG]

    This is an alternate view avilable in the regular (non full screen) image editing panel with loupe:

    [​IMG]

    Import Panel - Notice the file Hierarchy above the image and the path of the file transfer to the left:

    [​IMG]

    Image editing panel in alternate view (vertical):

    [​IMG]

    Rate and categorize panel:

    [​IMG]

    Full screen with HUD, loupe and vertical filmstrip:

    [​IMG]

    Full screen thumbnails with vertical filmstrip:

    [​IMG]

    Full screen with full HUD and vertical filmstrip:

    [​IMG]
     
  2. iGary thread starter Guest

    iGary

    Joined:
    May 26, 2004
    Location:
    Randy's House
  3. homerjward macrumors 68030

    homerjward

    Joined:
    May 11, 2004
    Location:
    fig tree
    #3
    that looks really awesome :D
    how's it run on your 9650? is it as good as you expected WRT features, etc.?
     
  4. iGary thread starter Guest

    iGary

    Joined:
    May 26, 2004
    Location:
    Randy's House
    #4
    In full screen mode doing corrections or using the loupe, it sucks pretty bad. The program is really Core Image dependent for most all image processing instructions (you can hear the GPU working).

    I'll prolly end up getting the ATI X800 XT if it becomes too bothersome.

    The image adjustments are so nice - right there in front of you.

    Otherwise, it kicks major ass so far.
     
  5. Aarow macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Jun 14, 2005
    #5
    Nice. Really nice. Really, really nice. You always have the coolest computer stuff:)
    .I'm kinda wishing to be a photographer now. A photographer with money.
     
  6. homerjward macrumors 68030

    homerjward

    Joined:
    May 11, 2004
    Location:
    fig tree
    #6
    wow...that single app makes me regret getting a pc :p
    even though i dont have a camera that shoots RAW...
    or $500 for aperture...
     
  7. iGary thread starter Guest

    iGary

    Joined:
    May 26, 2004
    Location:
    Randy's House
  8. pdpfilms macrumors 68020

    pdpfilms

    Joined:
    Jun 29, 2004
    Location:
    Vermontana
    #8
    Keep them coming! I'm sorry to hear it's not so hot on the 9650... Looks like I may have to upgrade as well. I'm just not too sure i understand why a photo editing app is soooo gpu intensive.
     
  9. iGary thread starter Guest

    iGary

    Joined:
    May 26, 2004
    Location:
    Randy's House
  10. DXoverDY macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Apr 19, 2005
    #10
    because with a good GPU it's faster than it would ever think of being done on the CPU.
     
  11. pdpfilms macrumors 68020

    pdpfilms

    Joined:
    Jun 29, 2004
    Location:
    Vermontana
    #11
    huh? I think that could use a little rephrasing...
     
  12. Dr. Dastardly macrumors 65816

    Dr. Dastardly

    Joined:
    Jun 26, 2004
    Location:
    I live in a giant bucket!
    #12
    This pretty much dashes all my worries of this program. Thanks for the screens and semi review. ;)

    More screens please!
     
  13. trainguy77 macrumors 68040

    Joined:
    Nov 13, 2003
  14. iGary thread starter Guest

    iGary

    Joined:
    May 26, 2004
    Location:
    Randy's House
    #14
    .Mac is being a whore right now - I have a bunch of other shots, which I will post when I can upload them.
     
  15. iGary thread starter Guest

    iGary

    Joined:
    May 26, 2004
    Location:
    Randy's House
  16. iGary thread starter Guest

    iGary

    Joined:
    May 26, 2004
    Location:
    Randy's House
    #16
    If i was semi-serious as an amateur I would buy this program with the caveat that if you have an iMac G5, it's gonna run slow - just keep that in mind.

    As a professional - I'm wondering how I have put up with Adobe's lame-ass "browser" and "Bridge attempts over the years. By no means is this a Photoshop replacement - I will still be using that every day for my high-volume batching etc. But for my own professional work and cataloguing - this beats anything I've ever touched hands down.
     
  17. iPhil macrumors 68040

    iPhil

    #17
    Good pics iGary and good mini - review of Aperture ..

    How does someone get a set-up like iGary's Mac system,hmmm you gotta do excellent photo-work etc., and process thousands of pics per day to may it worth while of the investment..;) ;)



    iphil
     
  18. javabear90 macrumors 6502a

    javabear90

    Joined:
    Dec 7, 2003
    Location:
    Houston, TX
    #18
    So... do you think it will run a 1.5ghz powerbook with 1.5gigs of Ram? it has a 64 meg ATi 9700. I have about 35,000 photos from a Nikon D70.
    God.... It looks so sweet. Esp. for $250 with an EDU discount.
    Thanks,
    Ted
     
  19. iGary thread starter Guest

    iGary

    Joined:
    May 26, 2004
    Location:
    Randy's House
    #19
    You gotta stare at boring aerial photos all day. :( :p
     
  20. iGary thread starter Guest

    iGary

    Joined:
    May 26, 2004
    Location:
    Randy's House
    #20
    There is a checker program on the Aperture website - have a look!
     
  21. GoCubsGo macrumors Nehalem

    GoCubsGo

    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2005
    #21
    Gary, I am not the jealous type, but I admit I am officially jealous! I can't wait until I can drop $3k on a machine that will run this. My PowerBook simply won't. :(
     
  22. joepunk macrumors 68030

    joepunk

    Joined:
    Aug 5, 2004
    Location:
    a profane existence
    #22
    Now I am seeing why a person would need 4-8GB of ram in the future. Yikes!

     
  23. iGary thread starter Guest

    iGary

    Joined:
    May 26, 2004
    Location:
    Randy's House
    #23
  24. kwajo.com macrumors 6502a

    kwajo.com

    Joined:
    Jul 17, 2002
    Location:
    Bay of Fundy
    #24
    looks great, I may have ot think harder about investing in Aperture to help my workflow (although I should probably get a new lens instead, but hey, Apple doesn't make lenses ;) )
     
  25. DXoverDY macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Apr 19, 2005
    #25
    See my CoreImage FAQ

    Your video card is designed to handle image manipulation and 3d rendering. in many cases it is 10 to 100 times faster than your computer's G4 or G5 processor at manipulating images. As such, the dependence on a good video card is important because CoreImage is designed around working with your video card, although it can fall back on your processor, albeit slower. CoreImage while revolutionary at this point, is still in its infancy. But it still does the image manipulations in Aperture FASTER than it would be done using the G5 processor. Plain and simple, and it'll improve in speed as video cards grow, the gains will be exponential rather than just a couple of seconds faster as they would be with a simple speed bump on your G5. While it might not make sense now, in the next year or two you'll wonder how you lived without it. If photoshop implemented CoreImage it would be extraordinarily faster than it is now in many many instances. CoreImage is so ahead of it's time, Microsoft is still working on implementing it in Avalon (for Vista, formerly Longhorn).
     

Share This Page