Oh Bondi Blue...

Discussion in 'Mac Pro' started by appledu, Aug 28, 2006.

  1. appledu macrumors member

    appledu

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2006
    Location:
    Somewhere. I don't remember ...
    #1
    Hello all,

    I'll probably be inheriting a Bondi Blue as my first Mac, which I'll probably use to learn about the OS, before I get an MBP.

    The seller told me that the keyboard doesn't really work anymore (something to do with spilling something on it) and that there is no mouse, so I was wondering where I could buy a cheap new compatible (if possible original) set?

    Also, can Tiger run on it?

    What cool things could I do with it as a good Mac learning curve?

    Even if it can't run Tiger, but can run another version of OS X, would it still be a good introduction to Tiger / Leopard or is it completely different?

    Thanks,

    appledu
     
  2. California macrumors 68040

    California

    Joined:
    Aug 21, 2004
    #2
    Is it a 233, 266, 333, 350, 400, 450, 500 600 or 700mhz iMac?

    If it is the first three, you don't have firewire or a dvd drive, so Tiger is hard to get on there. Unless you buy a Sonnet Harmoni G3 firewire upgrade kit.

    If it is a latter day iMac, some of them had dvd drives. But they all had firewire and you can load up a hard drive with Tiger and copy it that way. I did that on two 500mhz iMacs, they run great.
     
  3. Chundles macrumors G4

    Chundles

    Joined:
    Jul 4, 2005
    #3
    Are we talking Bondi (remember, Bond-eye) Blue and White PowerMac or iMac?

    If it's the PowerMac, max out the RAM and you can run Tiger, if it's the iMac the best you'll get is 10.3 on there.

    eBay for the KB and mouse.
     
  4. appledu thread starter macrumors member

    appledu

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2006
    Location:
    Somewhere. I don't remember ...
    #4
    I *think* it's a 266Mhz, but with a 10Gb HD...

    So, can't I get Tiger on that? :(

    Will any Apple KB + Mouse do on eBay?

    appledu
     
  5. Chundles macrumors G4

    Chundles

    Joined:
    Jul 4, 2005
    #5
    How does the disc go in?

    Tray-load = no Tiger
    Slot-load = Tiger

    Remember, if it is capable of running Tiger you'll need to get it onto a HDD and use that because Tiger comes on a DVD and iMacs didn't get a DVD drive for a long time. If you can find a CD version of Tiger online or go through Apple's media exchange program with a retail purchase of Tiger you can do it that way.
     
  6. appledu thread starter macrumors member

    appledu

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2006
    Location:
    Somewhere. I don't remember ...
    #6
    Hi,

    I don't know if it has a slot or tray...why the difference?

    What's the cheapest legal way to get Tiger, if the seller can't provide it?

    Also, would 10.3 still be a good learning curve if I couldn't get Tiger on?

    appledu
     
  7. Chundles macrumors G4

    Chundles

    Joined:
    Jul 4, 2005
    #7
    Because the slot-loading iMacs had built-in firewire - a major requirement for Tiger.

    Panther would most likely run faster on that iMac than Tiger, you can find pretty cheap copies of it on eBay. Make sure you pack as much RAM into it as you possibly can.

    Nothing wrong with 10.3, it was, and still is a very good OS.
     
  8. deebster macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Oct 21, 2004
    Location:
    Olde Englande
    #8
    Any USB keyboard and mouse should work fine. A cheapo Windoze one will tide you over, and the only real problem is re-mapping the command and alt keys, but that is possible from within the OS in Tiger and by using freeware apps in Panther, if I remember right.
     
  9. appledu thread starter macrumors member

    appledu

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2006
    Location:
    Somewhere. I don't remember ...
    #9
    Thanks guys,

    I'll ask the seller a few more questions and get back to you.

    Do you all think that it's a good Mac learner?

    appledu
     
  10. deebster macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Oct 21, 2004
    Location:
    Olde Englande
    #10
    Yes, it'll certainly be a good learning Mac.

    I'd say put Panther on there and max the RAM out and you'll be OK for most stuff.

    IMO Tiger really isn't that much of an improvement over Panther, but it does demand more resources, and I think a 233 MHz Mac is going to struggle with it.
     
  11. vouder17 macrumors 6502a

    vouder17

    Joined:
    Apr 30, 2003
    Location:
    Home
    #11
    I would be careful with buying a cheap windows one, they mostly do not have usb ports on them, and u will need the extra ones. So rather stick to some good ole apple keyboards, which have two usb ports on the back/side. You can buy a pro one now, and then just use it when u get ur MBP.
    Have fun with ur new mac,
     

Share This Page