oh dear, what's this?

Discussion in 'Digital Photography' started by Dafke, May 8, 2006.

  1. Dafke macrumors 6502

    Dafke

    Joined:
    Mar 24, 2005
    #1
    so i just took some picture with my Canon 350D and the first three of a serie of 32 look like this! Does it have anything to do with the camera or is it the compact flash card (i always reformat it before use).

    [​IMG]

    [​IMG]

    [​IMG]
     
  2. iGary Guest

    iGary

    Joined:
    May 26, 2004
    Location:
    Randy's House
    #2
    Reformat the card, and double check that you have the most current firmware in the camera.


    Next, are you connecting with an card reader, or directly to the camera?
     
  3. Dafke thread starter macrumors 6502

    Dafke

    Joined:
    Mar 24, 2005
    #3
    Ok thanx, I'll check the firmware and reformat again.

    Normally I directly connect the camera, this time for some reason I used a card reader, could this have affected the images?
     
  4. iGary Guest

    iGary

    Joined:
    May 26, 2004
    Location:
    Randy's House
    #4
    Yep - though not likely. Try connecting to the camera and see if you get the same results. This would pinpoint the card reader if you get good images via this method.
     
  5. Dafke thread starter macrumors 6502

    Dafke

    Joined:
    Mar 24, 2005
    #5
    Well, i put back in the cf card in the camera, and tried to view the pics on the camera. With the first image it says "Corrupt Data" and it shows a really small thumbnail, with the second and the third there are bright blue and green bars on the images - the same size as the grey area's. Odd, isn't it?
     
  6. Dafke thread starter macrumors 6502

    Dafke

    Joined:
    Mar 24, 2005
    #6
    importing into iPhoto directly from cramera gives error message for the 3 images...
     
  7. Chip NoVaMac macrumors G3

    Chip NoVaMac

    Joined:
    Dec 25, 2003
    Location:
    Northern Virginia
    #7
    Sounds like a corrupted memory card. You might try a program like Image Rescue to see if you can save the data before you reformat the card and do more test shots.
     
  8. Dafke thread starter macrumors 6502

    Dafke

    Joined:
    Mar 24, 2005
    #8
    luckily these were pictures of a building very close to my house so it is no problem to go and take 'm again, just hoping this won't happen again...

    upgrading firmware right now (from 1.0.2 to 1.0.3).
     
  9. iGary Guest

    iGary

    Joined:
    May 26, 2004
    Location:
    Randy's House
    #9
    What he said. :D
     

Share This Page