Oh My God! So Scared! I Think I Killed My Macbook

Discussion in 'Mac Pro' started by diametric, Jul 28, 2006.

  1. diametric macrumors regular

    diametric

    Joined:
    Jul 4, 2006
    Location:
    Sydney
    #1
    It's new, my macbook. And I, like a ****ing idiot, took out the ram modules, just to experience it all. AND IT DID NOT GO BACK IN, not properly anyway. And I called apple, and they said, take it to your reseller and they'll fix it up.

    Now, (after I tried to put the ram back in) when I turned it on, and the modules were in there and the comp started. But it only recognized once of my 512 MB chips. I turned it off, and retried it, and the comp. did not start (I began to freak out right about here).

    It booted up, screen remained black and the sleep light kept on flashing.

    I left it alone at this point and removed the ram, put the tab back in, and put the battery in.

    Please help me calm down.

    And just a question, could anyone, who is experienced at this, remove their ram and boot the comp and see what happens?

    (I so ****ing hope I havn't just thrown away 2 grand, I'd get such a hiding.)
     
  2. PlaceofDis macrumors Core

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2004
    #2
    go on over to www.pbfixit.com and have a look at their guides

    this may help you re-insert your ram correctly to make sure it works alright.
     
  3. Lau Guest

    #3
    Ok. First, breathe deeply.

    Phew.

    I don't have a MacBook, but before someone who does comes along, or who knows more than me, here's something to try. RAM is notorious for making computers do funny things if it's a bit loose or whatever. I suspect you may not have pushed them in fully.

    So, take the RAM module(s) that came with your computer and take your time, and check they're very firmly seated in the slots. You have to push them surprisingly hard and they'll click into place. It is really scary how hard you have to push, and just push them really hard, at the right angle. Then put the battery back, and try rebooting. You may well find it's fine.

    But if it isn't don't panic! We'll see what we can do if that doesn't work.
     
  4. dmw007 macrumors G4

    dmw007

    Joined:
    May 26, 2005
    Location:
    Working for MI-6
    #4

    Yep, try re-seating the RAM diametric- this sounds like it may be your problem. :)
     
  5. diametric thread starter macrumors regular

    diametric

    Joined:
    Jul 4, 2006
    Location:
    Sydney
    #5
    Oh, gosh. I'll try reseating it. Whilst trying to avoid a heart attack.
     
  6. BananaEater macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Feb 20, 2006
    Location:
    Norway
    #6
    I experienced the exact same thing - first only one ram module was recognized, then it wouldn't start - just a black screen and light in front.

    Even called apple about it..

    Solution was to push the modules with inhuman strength into the slots.

    Dang, was I scared at the time :eek:
     
  7. diametric thread starter macrumors regular

    diametric

    Joined:
    Jul 4, 2006
    Location:
    Sydney
    #7
    Banana. I love you. This much.

    Someone who has the same problem. It really is scary pushing it in, I'm scared I'll break something if I push that hard.
     
  8. sinecurea macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Mar 14, 2006
    Location:
    Northern Ireland
    #8
    *Warning - this post is not going to be helpful in the slightest.*

    "just to experience it all" WTF?
    It's people like you who are the personal hell of tech support, and normal consumers alike. Other people geniunely have a problem with their Mac and have to sit in a queue for ages, while people can't put their RAM back in...

    Just use a bit of intelligence and look at the shape of the RAM dims and figure a way to put it in. And READ the manual. Don't be scared to use a little force, but only use force where it's needed.

    Steve.
     
  9. diametric thread starter macrumors regular

    diametric

    Joined:
    Jul 4, 2006
    Location:
    Sydney
    #9
    Thank you, Steve. For making me feel like more crap. :)
     
  10. diametric thread starter macrumors regular

    diametric

    Joined:
    Jul 4, 2006
    Location:
    Sydney
    #10
    I heard clicks, bitches. Superhuman strenght, indeed. Now, to replace the tab and battery and see what happens.

    Thanks so much guys.
     
  11. sinecurea macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Mar 14, 2006
    Location:
    Northern Ireland
    #11
    That's usually to stop people from taking them out ;)
     
  12. diametric thread starter macrumors regular

    diametric

    Joined:
    Jul 4, 2006
    Location:
    Sydney
    #12
    Okay guys, same problem. I didn't put the tab in yet, BUt, I plugged adapter, and booted, it booted, starting off with a question mark on a file.

    And then, it loaded the OS. And I checked about this Mac, and it still writes 512 MB, at least I've got one in.

    Anyways, the sturggle continues.
     
  13. TBR macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Feb 14, 2004
    Location:
    Blackpool - England
    #13
    It took me 5 attempts to finally get my ram in my macbook pushed in far enough to work, then the end of my forefinger on my left hand was numb for two weeks for pushing so hard!

    So yes inhuman strength is needed, and yes it's scary when the macbook doesn't turn on 5 times in a row!!

    Glad your all sorted now!
     
  14. diametric thread starter macrumors regular

    diametric

    Joined:
    Jul 4, 2006
    Location:
    Sydney
    #14
    Woohoo! Got all the ram in, OS X recognizes 1 GB RAM.

    But I'm still getting a question mark on a folder when I boot up, just before the apple shows up. Does anyone know what that is?

    And now follows the drama of putting the tab back in.

    Ugh.
     
  15. TBR macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Feb 14, 2004
    Location:
    Blackpool - England
    #15
    Here's an article that will hopefully help you out.

    http://docs.info.apple.com/article.html?artnum=58042
     
  16. Lau Guest

    #16
    At least you know you haven't broken it! I'm afraid I can't help you further, but you haven't broken it, and either your friendly MR technicians or if not, Apple itself, will solve your problem one way or another.
     
  17. diametric thread starter macrumors regular

    diametric

    Joined:
    Jul 4, 2006
    Location:
    Sydney
    #17
    Thanks guys for your help in my moment of crisis.

    Everything's back to tip-top shape. Apple support is some of the most unhelpful support ever. He didn't even say push harder. He's like, hmm, if you push too hard, you might break something.

    Now, I can get off windoze and back OSX.
     
  18. gnasher729 macrumors P6

    gnasher729

    Joined:
    Nov 25, 2005
    #18
    Can't blame them. You took out the RAM just for fun, then you didn't manage to put it back in properly. At that point it makes sense to give the job to someone who knows what they are doing; greatly increases the chances of survival for the Mac.
     
  19. bbrosemer macrumors 6502a

    bbrosemer

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2006
    #19
    I think the true solution here is DONT PLAY WITH YOUR RAM, play with isight, other apps on the computer, MagSafe that is fun to play with, even the battery if you really want to be adventerous, but think of the Mac and dont do pointless things otherwise everyone would ave changed the thermal paste...
     
  20. MacBoobsPro macrumors 603

    MacBoobsPro

    Joined:
    Jan 10, 2006
    #20
    Play with photobooth, its safer, more fun and sometimes just as scary as playing with RAM (if you look like me anyway). :D
     
  21. olivia macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jun 22, 2006
    #21
    hahahah at least you have humor to fall back on ;)
     
  22. drummerbooker14 macrumors 6502

    drummerbooker14

    Joined:
    Jul 11, 2006
    Location:
    Georgia
  23. baxterbrittle macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Nov 8, 2005
    #23
    Why oh why take all the RAM out and try to start it up? It needs RAM to operate and MacBooks have no onboard RAM. That blinking light is RAM failure it donotes the absense of RAM or faulty RAM. Your MB booting to a folder icon then booting up means that someone has been tinkering with the startup disk settings - It's tring to find a disk trhat isn't there and then moves onto the next available bootdisk. Like a windows machine trying to boot from floppy. Fix it by going into system prefs/startup disk and selecting your main HDD.

    No RAM - What'd you expect it to do?:rolleyes:
     
  24. thequicksilver macrumors 6502a

    thequicksilver

    Joined:
    Sep 19, 2004
    Location:
    Birmingham
    #24
    Oh don't be so harsh. Have you never done anything just for a bit of fun? The poster took the RAM out to see if there was an error message. So what?

    People, don't take things too seriously. It's called being excited with a new toy. It's all part of the experience.
     

Share This Page