Ok folks i need some pc help

Discussion in 'Mac Basics and Help' started by tangerineyum, Dec 15, 2005.

  1. tangerineyum macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Feb 16, 2005
    Location:
    Ontario, CA
    #1
    Being as this isn't a mac related question i feel confident in posting in the community discussion. My friend has an HP Pavillion ze4800, and i was present while she decided to do a clean install of windows because her system has been running very sluggishly. So she went through the process of reinstalling using her supplied restore cd's.

    Her laptop features a number of buttons that I guess were tied in hardware wise to some specific software from HP. A button near the right palmrest to control wether her wireless is on or not, 3 buttons on the left side of the palm rest that control volume and finally an extra addition to the trackpad that controls scrolling. After the reinstall none of these buttons work. Together we have searched up and down the HP support site and we cant find anyway to give the buttons their functionality again. Does any one have any experience or suggestions? I've downloaded every driver available(some she needed, some she didnt) and nothing.
     
  2. Doctor Q Administrator

    Doctor Q

    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Sep 19, 2002
    Location:
    Los Angeles
    #2
    The Mac Basics forum is mostly for Mac questions, but your thread has been moved here because PC questions are welcome too.
     
  3. CanadaRAM macrumors G5

    CanadaRAM

    Joined:
    Oct 11, 2004
    Location:
    On the Left Coast - Victoria BC Canada
    #3
    Look for an apoplication on the machine or perhaps a control panel specifically from HP. There should be a "HP Configuration Utility" or some such in there somewhere.
     
  4. Seasought macrumors 65816

    Seasought

    Joined:
    Nov 3, 2005
    #4
    I second this. I believe that HP's have a separate applications CD that should have that on it. I'm surprised it isn't on their site. If you have spare CD's that came with the box, hunt through those for it.
     
  5. SummerBreeze macrumors 6502a

    SummerBreeze

    Joined:
    Sep 11, 2005
    Location:
    Chicago, IL
    #5
    What the other posters have said about an HP config cd is right, my brother has a Pavillion and it did come with cds that included all the software that came preloaded. That should fix your problem.

    It's too bad that this happened, seems like something that HP sould fix.
     
  6. NYmacAttack macrumors 6502

    NYmacAttack

    Joined:
    Dec 8, 2005
    Location:
    NY
    #6
    You may have to really search through the reinstall CD's, as some times they put the programs in some strange places.
     
  7. zflauaus macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Nov 19, 2004
    #7
    This might seem odd, but check under the Keyboard settings in the Control Panel. When I had an HP keyboard, all the settings were in there. Otherwise, no clue. Sorry.

    P.S. MacRumors should have some kind of PC forum for those still with Windows. Just a suggestion.
     
  8. SmurfBoxMasta macrumors 65816

    SmurfBoxMasta

    Joined:
    Nov 24, 2005
    Location:
    I'm only really here at night.
    #8
    1. restore CD's
    2. control panels
    3. convert her to a mac :eek:
     
  9. tangerineyum thread starter macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Feb 16, 2005
    Location:
    Ontario, CA
    #9
    This did the trick, the files were named some obscure reference number, we really only found the right drivers by accident. Thanks everyone for your help. All we have to fix now is the ability to tap the track pad and she is good to go.

    SmurfBoxMasta:

    I've been working on her for years to convert to mac, but she's in the hospitality business and is quite confident the mac community hasn't broken in with the latest and greatest event planning and hotel management software. But I'm working on it. I already have 6 under my belt.
     
  10. SmurfBoxMasta macrumors 65816

    SmurfBoxMasta

    Joined:
    Nov 24, 2005
    Location:
    I'm only really here at night.
    #10
    1 person at a time. Slow but steady :) We WILL prevail!! :)
     
  11. Papa-georgio macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Dec 16, 2005
    Location:
    Oklahoma
    #11
    I to had to re install

    Hello there. I had to do a re install of windows on my hp aswell and I had the same problem. Course I had to cds that came with my hp the OS cd and the driver cd. every driver I needed was on that cd. if you haven't gotten the touch pad up yet, maybe my driver on this cd may work? who knows...

    I've owned an hp and compaq all my life and never used a mac. What are the benefits of switching?
     

Share This Page