ok thats it...I need a folding system...

Discussion in 'Distributed Computing' started by pfranzen, Jul 14, 2003.

  1. macrumors member

    Joined:
    May 1, 2003
    Location:
    London
    #1
    Do you guys think the G5 will be the one or do I have to build a water cooled AMD/Intel folding animal?

    Actually, is the AMD processor better at folding or do you get more performance from a HT intel system?

    P
     
  2. macrumors 68000

    hvfsl

    Joined:
    Jul 9, 2001
    Location:
    London, UK
    #2
    I know that AMD chips are faster at folding than the P4, but I don't know what kind of difference HT makes. So a 3000XP is faster than a 3Ghz P4 at folding (at least in my experience).

    Also the G5 is meant to be the fastest out of the Athlon XP or P4 when the folding apps have been optimised for the G5. However the new Athlon 64 may be even faster, it will be launched in Sept
     
  3. macrumors 604

    iJon

    Joined:
    Feb 7, 2002
    #3
    why the hell would you want a machine just for folding, what a waste of money.

    iJon
     
  4. macrumors 6502

    NNO-Stephen

    Joined:
    Jun 9, 2003
    Location:
    Tulsa, Oklahoma
    #4
    well, some people have that kind of money to waste... guess that's why I won't ever buy a machine just for folding unless I'm making about 2 million a year... (HA!)
     
  5. thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    May 1, 2003
    Location:
    London
    #5
    hm well yeah...

    there are a few business apps that i have to run painfully slow in VPC6 so if I had to buy a new system then it might as well benefit the team dont ay think?

    P
     
  6. Moderator emeritus

    Mr. Anderson

    Joined:
    Nov 1, 2001
    Location:
    VA
    #6
    That's an interesting idea - I have a several things that I could use a PC for, but I don't know if I'd ever just get a machine for folding. Especially if I'm getting a new G5 sometime soon.

    Good luck,

    D
     
  7. thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    May 1, 2003
    Location:
    London
    #7
    yeah a G5 is nicer...

    I ordered a dual 2 G5 already...what you guys think it will do for Virtual PC?

    p
     
  8. macrumors 604

    MrMacMan

    Joined:
    Jul 4, 2001
    Location:
    1 Block away from NYC.
    #8
    Re: yeah a G5 is nicer...

    It might give you a Slow P4.

    Seriously VPC sucks currently.

    I mean my 800 iMac emulates a PII so... :rolleyes:

    And iJon I will not even comment.
     

Share This Page