ok, what happened?

Discussion in 'Mac Basics and Help' started by EEcuber17, Mar 7, 2006.

  1. EEcuber17 macrumors member

    Joined:
    Aug 4, 2005
    Location:
    Illinois, US
    #1
    all of a sudden I turn on my iBook today and my menu bar looks like this:

    [​IMG]

    My menu bar doesn't have time or anything, i didn't change any settings..

    This is probably really easy to fix and I'm just a lost mac user.
     
  2. bense27 macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Feb 25, 2006
    Location:
    Clinton, NY
    #2
    by menu bar did you mean the dock at the bottom?

    All you need to do is go to system preferences>dock> and adjust the dock size slider
     
  3. EEcuber17 thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Aug 4, 2005
    Location:
    Illinois, US
    #3
    Nooo..not the dock. The bar at the top, there's no time or anything there. I have it set for it to have that stuff.

    It just went away on its own.
     
  4. CanadaRAM macrumors G5

    CanadaRAM

    Joined:
    Oct 11, 2004
    Location:
    On the Left Coast - Victoria BC Canada
    #4
    The Menu Bar says Safari, rather than Finder, because you have Safari open. It doesn't have any windows open, so you are looking "through" the transparent Safari and seeing your Desktop in the background...

    Click anywhere on the visible desktop, or on the Finder icon in the Dock, and it will jump back to the Finder.

    OK, no, you mean that you normally see the clock and stuff on the right hand side of the menubar... What are the settings when you go into System Preferences: Date and Time: Clock: View in Menubar ?
     
  5. stridey macrumors 65816

    stridey

    Joined:
    Jan 21, 2005
    Location:
    Massachusetts, Connecticut
    #5
    If you look around, you'll see that there are a bunch of other threads about this (like, today). Do you have a hacked version of Front Row installed on your mac? See this thread for (a little) more info.

    Edit: For everybody else, he's upset because none of the SystemUIServer status menus are showing up.
     
  6. calebjohnston macrumors 68000

    calebjohnston

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2006
    #6
    no, you guys are all missing it. this is a problem many people have been having lately; search the forum.

    hacks are causing this. tsk tsk
     
  7. EEcuber17 thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Aug 4, 2005
    Location:
    Illinois, US
    #7
    ewwww that front row thing did it I bet, I normally never try that stuff.

    how can I get it off?
     
  8. alexstein macrumors 6502a

    alexstein

    Joined:
    Aug 23, 2004
    #8
    My guess would be to get rid of that hacked version of Front Row.
     
  9. calebjohnston macrumors 68000

    calebjohnston

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2006
    #9
    yeah, the first start would be to just ditch all that hacked front row stuff. more proof that it is not legit to do for computers that don't come with it.
     

Share This Page