OLD eMac wont shut off....

Discussion in 'PowerPC Macs' started by Prombar, Oct 28, 2008.

  1. macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Oct 28, 2008
    #1
    i press shutdown and it just takes me back to the log in screen

    its running 10.3.9 i got it from my uncle its really old im trying to install leopard but i cant because it wont shut off and i don't have leopard in a DVD because i dont have any blank Dual layered DVDS lying around =]

    um yeahh...

    Machine Model: eMac
    CPU Type: PowerPC G4 (3.3)
    Number Of CPUs: 1
    CPU Speed: 1 GHz
    L2 Cache (per CPU): 256 KB
    Memory: 768 MB
    Bus Speed: 133 MHz
    Boot ROM Version: 4.6.4f1
    Serial Number: G83491Q7PPB

    what should i do
     
  2. macrumors Penryn

    Eidorian

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2005
    Location:
    Indianapolis
  3. macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Sep 9, 2007
    #3
    You can always pull the plug or hold the power key down for about 5 seconds.

    Is this everytime or just this once. My old eMac used to hang on shutdown sometimes under Tiger.
     
  4. thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Oct 28, 2008
    #4
    its not that its that i want to install leopard but i have the image file and not the dvd. u need to burn it to a dual layered dvd witch i dont have,

    and it says restart to install leopard and it doesnt fully restart
     
  5. macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Sep 9, 2007
    #5
    Image file and no DVD typically equals pirated version?

    First you said it won't shut down and now you say it won't start? What's up?

    Hold the option key down while booting and try to select another partition. What are you booting from? Do you have an external drive available - USB or FireWire?

    Any bootable CD's or DVDs?

    Do you have the Jaguar, Panther, or Tiger disks the machine shipped with? Have you called Apple and ask how much a set of those will cost?
     
  6. thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Oct 28, 2008
    #6
    its not pirated i broke the disk but i lucky put it on the hard drive just in case (shifty eyes)

    yeah it wont shutdown but i meant that if i force shut it down (holding the power button on the side) and i start it back up it doesnt boot from the external hard drive i restores the .dmg leopard install file on

    it wont boot off of a ubuntu cd ether
    for some reason

    i havent called apple.....

    basiclly the question has change into how can i install leopard when the computer wont restart and boot off of a cd
     
  7. macrumors 68000

    fleshman03

    Joined:
    May 27, 2008
    Location:
    Sioux City, IA
    #7
    While I am not going to blast you for pirating an OS, why on Earth would you want leopard on that machine? I had just came home from fixing my parents 700mhz eMac and I had to hug my MacBook Pro when I got here. It's running Panther. I can't imagine what Leopard would do to that machine.

    Do you have a tiger disk? Try booting off that.

    And calling Apple isn't the best idea.
     
  8. macrumors 601

    themoonisdown09

    Joined:
    Nov 19, 2007
    Location:
    Georgia, USA
    #8
    I wouldn't install Leopard on it either. It would not be a very good experience.
     
  9. thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Oct 28, 2008
    #9
    i dont have any of the old cd that came with it i got it from my uncle and i'm prettey sure he doesnt have it

    okay so i decided not to install leopard

    i want leopard because i want to dev. for the ipod touch
     
  10. macrumors regular

    bengal85

    Joined:
    Oct 22, 2008
    Location:
    USA
  11. macrumors regular

    fohawk17

    Joined:
    Oct 17, 2008
  12. thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Oct 28, 2008
    #12
    =[
     
  13. macrumors 601

    themoonisdown09

    Joined:
    Nov 19, 2007
    Location:
    Georgia, USA
    #13
    If you want to develop for the iPod Touch or iPhone, I would suggest you buy a newer computer. If you don't have much money to spend, you can always find newer Macs for cheap on eBay.
     
  14. macrumors 68000

    fleshman03

    Joined:
    May 27, 2008
    Location:
    Sioux City, IA
    #14
    Well it looks like you've got two options then.

    1) Get a Mac Mini. You'd be looking at something in the area of $500. That is used off ebay or similar. You could use the mouse and keyboard from the eMac, get leopard and dev for the iPhone/Touch.

    2) Get the eMac in proper working order. Full install disks for Panther (10.3) or Jaguar (10.2) can be had on eBay for ~$20 - $30. That would get it back to how it ran before. However, you should know that you're going to want to eventually move on to something bigger and better.


    I don't know your situation, but I think you'd end up being happier with something other than an eMac. The technology in it is fairly outdated and will suffer from slow downs. It's gotten so bad on my parents eMac, I'm giving them my old Dell 4700. (I've upgraded it to 3gb RAM and a 8600 GT.)

    There are some really good deals on refurbished Macs @ the Apple Store too. I just took a look and there is a 17" white iMac for $699. If you could afford it, I'd recommend an Aluminum one, but the white one could work. I'm not exactly sure if it comes with Leopard or not, but it would be upgradable. I'm sure the Aluminum ones will.
     
  15. thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Oct 28, 2008
    #15
    I get what ur saying but im a bit of a geek and you know normal teens get old cars to fix up well this is sort of like that to me. Im going to try to buy a new GPU and CPU and upgrade the RAM and get a DVD drive its like an experiment because i have a dual monitor set up with the mac and a windows machine that works fine and this is just what im doing becuase i have to much time on my hands lol :D but im a little short on cash


    and i might have to buy one of those cd off ebay =/

    p.s
    u might want to upgrade ur parents graphics card too if it has 3GB of ram and runs slow its the GPU or the CPU =]
     
  16. macrumors 68000

    fleshman03

    Joined:
    May 27, 2008
    Location:
    Sioux City, IA
    #16
    I know how to do those types of upgrades on a PC, but I have no idea how to do them on a Mac. I don't think the eMac MoBo will support changing out the CPU. I believe it's actually part of the MoBo.

    What they have is this model.
    Putting in a gig of ram is only going to go so far with a 700 mhz processor.

    Here are the detailed specs for yours. (I think.)


    I'm giving them my old PC. It's got a 3.4ghz HT Intel, 3gb ram 8600 gt, 140 gb HD. With their eMac, it's at the point where loading webpages via their cable modem is slo w.

    I'm more into the Information Science side of things. I can build systems, but I prefer software and organizing the data in a presentable and searchable form. (I'm a Grad Student working on my MLIS in that field.)

    Since you are thinking about doing so hardcore mods, this might be of use.
     
  17. thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Oct 28, 2008
    #17
    thanks for that link it's book marked =]

    and damn a 700mxh processor no wonder its so slow =]
     

Share This Page