old G5 video card on newer mac pro?

Discussion in 'PowerPC Macs' started by wkw, Jan 3, 2010.

  1. wkw
    macrumors 6502

    wkw

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2004
    Location:
    Eugene, OR
    #1
    A friend of mine scored a quad 2.66 with a 20" ACD for $900! what a deal. He has 4 monitors he wants to connect. I have an old 64mb video card from a G5 I want to give him if it will work. Will it work in the mac pro?

    [​IMG]
     
  2. macrumors 603

    Joined:
    Apr 15, 2004
    #2
    No.
     
  3. Guest

    spinnerlys

    Joined:
    Sep 7, 2008
    Location:
    forlod bygningen
    #3
    The graphics card needs to fit in a 16-lane PCI Express slot
    http://www.everymac.com/systems/apple/mac_pro/stats/mac-pro-quad-2.66-specs.html and needs Universal drivers.

    Are you sure the graphics card is from a G5 and not a G4 as searches point to that this card belong in a G4 and is a Nvidia Geforce MX with 64MB.

    Can't you give more information about the card?

    But most probably no.


    EDIT:
    Upsy daisy.
     
  4. macrumors 603

    Joined:
    Apr 15, 2004
    #4
    It looks like a PCI Express card, so it would have to be a G5 card.

    Regardless, it's Open Firmware, not EFI, and can't be used in a Mac Pro, even if there were drivers.
     
  5. Guest

    spinnerlys

    Joined:
    Sep 7, 2008
    Location:
    forlod bygningen
    #5
    Ah, thanks good to know about the difference.
     
  6. macrumors 68040

    666sheep

    Joined:
    Dec 7, 2009
    Location:
    Poland
    #6
    First, it will not work, cause it's an AGP Pro card - GF 5200 Ultra, not PCI-Express = you cannot stick it even to G5 Dual Core - fits only AGP versions of G5.
     
  7. macrumors 68000

    disconap

    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2005
    Location:
    Portland, OR
    #7
    My advice: sell it on ebay and buy your friend another card. The G4 and G5 AGP cards go for a decent amount since there aren't that many of them floating around these days, outside of flashed cards.
     
  8. macrumors 65816

    300D

    Joined:
    May 2, 2009
    Location:
    Tulsa
    #8
    Won't work. AGP and PCI-E are not compatible in any way.
     

Share This Page