Old iMac, new Panther or Tiger?

Discussion in 'Mac Basics and Help' started by Texas04, Oct 16, 2005.

  1. Texas04 macrumors 6502a

    Texas04

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2005
    Location:
    Texas
    #1
    Well, im writing from a standpoint of not being able to buy a new mac every four years or so. Right now my neighbor, seeing my new interest in Mac's let me take hers home since she never uses it. Its an old iMac G3 400 MHZ~ with 640MB of ram. I am sick of not being able to watch H.264 video on Jaguar. So, Panther or Tiger would be the next step, but can my Mac handle that? Apple says it can, but will it run well? Or will it be slow like my old PC? ~sigh~

    (A new computer will be eventually in the works soon!, yes a Mac)
     
  2. wordmunger macrumors 603

    wordmunger

    Joined:
    Sep 3, 2003
    Location:
    North Carolina
    #2
    Panther will work great on that machine. I've got it running on an original G3 ibook (300 mhz, I think...) w/160 MB RAM. It's a little laggy, but works fine for web browsing, iTunes, etc. Your iMac has a faster video card and more memory. The only issue might be HD space -- has that been upgraded? 10 GB is probably fine, but much smaller than that and you may suffer performance issues.
     
  3. Texas04 thread starter macrumors 6502a

    Texas04

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2005
    Location:
    Texas
    #3
    Well, I have 640MB of Ram, and my HD is about 12Gigs, with about 4 or 5 Free right now, I have an external drive where I save everything, 2 partions Fat32, to go back and fourth from my PC to the Mac, they are both about 30gigs,
     
  4. Jaffa Cake macrumors Core

    Jaffa Cake

    Joined:
    Aug 1, 2004
    Location:
    The City of Culture, Englandshire
    #4
    Just to follow up on what wordmunger posted, my previous Mac was a 500Mhz G3 iMac with 384MB of Ram and a 20GB hard disk, and that ran Panther beautifully – I'm sure that the iMac you describe will do so too.

    One thing to mention... I remember reading that OS X likes to have about 4-5GB of hard drive space free (as you do at the moment) so it might be worthwhile just having a tidy of your files and apps, and freeing up a bit of space on the machine itself.
     
  5. Aliquis macrumors regular

    Aliquis

    Joined:
    Oct 4, 2004
    Location:
    Utah
    #5
    I have a friend running Tiger on his G3, and with enough ram (as you have) he says it runs faster than Panther.

    It's amazing that with each release of OSX, it keeps getting faster and faster, while compared with Windows, each release kept getting more bloated and slower.
     
  6. slooksterPSV macrumors 68030

    slooksterPSV

    Joined:
    Apr 17, 2004
    Location:
    Nowheresville
    #6
    *Quotes a show/movie/something* That is going in my list of 'So there''s*End Quote*
    I've put Tiger on my iBook (see the fine print (first one)) and it ran OK, not the best though. I went back to Panther, but I'm considering trying a new Installation of Tiger instead of making an image of it and doing it like that.
     
  7. Aliquis macrumors regular

    Aliquis

    Joined:
    Oct 4, 2004
    Location:
    Utah
  8. MacFan782040 macrumors 6502a

    MacFan782040

    Joined:
    Dec 1, 2003
    Location:
    Scranton, PA
  9. zen.state macrumors 68020

    zen.state

    Joined:
    Mar 13, 2005
    #9
    you can special order a cd version or do a target disk install over firewire from a mac with dvd.

    I thought the G3 400 imacs all had dvd-rom's?
     
  10. California macrumors 68040

    California

    Joined:
    Aug 21, 2004
    #10
    My vote is for Panther until they work the bugs out in the latest Tiger version. Though I think I would tell all my G3 imac pals (and I have quite a few, believe me) to stick with Panther until they have to finally give up these five year old machines. A few widgets and -- CPU hogging? I'm still on Panther on my new iBooks and PB.
     
  11. Aliquis macrumors regular

    Aliquis

    Joined:
    Oct 4, 2004
    Location:
    Utah
  12. Texas04 thread starter macrumors 6502a

    Texas04

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2005
    Location:
    Texas
    #12
    Installing Panther today:
    I will see how it goes :cool:
     
  13. slooksterPSV macrumors 68030

    slooksterPSV

    Joined:
    Apr 17, 2004
    Location:
    Nowheresville
    #13
    Good luck
     
  14. aquajet macrumors 68020

    Joined:
    Feb 12, 2005
    Location:
    VA
    #14
    You still won't be able to watch H.264 on that machine, regardless of what OS it has.
    :(
     

Share This Page