Old Mac

Discussion in 'Mac Basics and Help' started by Sathos, Jun 23, 2006.

  1. Sathos macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jul 30, 2005
    Location:
    Alberta, Canada
    #1
    Hello, I've got another quick question to ask :eek:

    There's a possibility of me obtaining an old PowerMac 6400 (well, PowerMac 6400/200 is what the article says..) for pretty cheap, apparently running OS 9.1. My question is, would I be able to use this for strictly internet use, and how? All of our computers currently run high speed internet from a wireless router. Not a big deal if it's impossible, but I'm kinda curious :)
     
  2. funkychunkz macrumors 6502a

    funkychunkz

    Joined:
    Jun 1, 2005
    Location:
    Ottawa, Canada
    #2
    I can tell you right now that it's possible, and considerably easily if you can manage out the hardware. I've seen applications meant to tweak os 9.x high speed connections, and my school's computers run off a 3meg connection out of the box (using os9) so it should be feasible.
     
  3. Sathos thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jul 30, 2005
    Location:
    Alberta, Canada
    #3
    Thanks :)

    Another question.. what would I need to get it to pick up the wireless connection? Having it connected to something for internet unfortunately isn't an option..

    2.4 GB HD
    CD-ROM
    100 MB SCSI Zip Drive
    136MB Ram
    TV Tuner Card + Remote
    S-video, RCA video, sound input card
    Apple 10/100 fast ethernet PCI card
    Comm2 slot 10baseT ethernet

    that's what the ad says.
     
  4. Mr_Brightside_@ macrumors 68000

    Mr_Brightside_@

    Joined:
    Sep 23, 2005
    Location:
    The 6ix
    #4
    maybe i'm missing something, but wouldn't Ethernet imply that connecting it would be an option? ... or are we thinking of differents definitions of 'connected'?
     
  5. Fleetwood Mac macrumors 65816

    Fleetwood Mac

    Joined:
    Apr 27, 2006
    Location:
    Canada
    #5
    Well, you'll need an Airport of somesort. :p

    I know the orignal iBook Airports run on System 9. That probably won't help you though.. you might need something external.
     
  6. x86 macrumors regular

    x86

    Joined:
    May 25, 2006
    Location:
    Dearborn, MI
    #6
    I agree. You can always get a wireless network bridge if all else fails.
     
  7. CoMpX macrumors 65816

    CoMpX

    Joined:
    Jun 29, 2005
    Location:
    New Jersey
    #7
    I'm not sure, but isn't it possible to configure an AirPort Express hooked to the computer with ethernet to pick up wireless? Then send its signal over ethernet to the Mac?
     

Share This Page