Old PM G5 as a NAS?

Discussion in 'PowerPC Macs' started by Loa, Mar 2, 2010.

  1. Loa
    macrumors 65816

    Loa

    Joined:
    May 5, 2003
    Location:
    Québec
    #1
    Hello,

    I may get my hands on a first gen Power Mac G5, and I have two questions:

    1- Can I use this G5 as a NAS?

    2- Can I mount more than 2 drives in there, even though officially there's only room for 2?

    Thanks!

    Loa
     
  2. macrumors 68040

    666sheep

    Joined:
    Dec 7, 2009
    Location:
    Poland
    #2
    1 Sure you can
    2 Yes, but you will need additional SATA controller to connect more drives and something like this or this to place them inside G5 case.
     
  3. Loa
    thread starter macrumors 65816

    Loa

    Joined:
    May 5, 2003
    Location:
    Québec
    #3
    Thx!

    Two more questions:

    -External hard drives connected with USB will be available on the network as well?

    -Can I fit in a PATA hard drive in the optical bay?

    Loa
     
  4. macrumors 68030

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2008
    Location:
    UK
    #4
    Yes and yes.

    There are also adapters that could fit 2.5" drives in the PCIe slots, which would increase your internal storage capacity.
    -> http://www.xpcgear.com/scythe-slot-rafter-2-5.html

    The maximum internal storage capacity of a G5 should be 18TB with proper mounting.
    5 3.5" drives (2TB) and 8 2.5" drives (1TB).
    Of course all that drives would require additional SATA (RAID) controllers.
     
  5. Loa
    thread starter macrumors 65816

    Loa

    Joined:
    May 5, 2003
    Location:
    Québec
    #5
    Wow! That should be enough to last me a while! :-D

    Thanks

    Loa
     
  6. macrumors 68030

    fhall1

    Joined:
    Dec 18, 2007
    Location:
    NY State of mind
    #6
    Not exactly sure what power supply the G5 has (700watt?), but leaving it running 24/7 as a NAS will cost you significantly more than a 2 or 4 drive dedicated NAS unit. It'll be like running a small microwave oven continuously.
     
  7. Loa
    thread starter macrumors 65816

    Loa

    Joined:
    May 5, 2003
    Location:
    Québec
    #7
    Well, even if the power supply is rated at 700W, it's not giving up that much energy constantly.

    My 09 MP's power supply is rated at 980W, but it only pulls around 110W during regular usage.

    It's significantly more than a NAS, but then again, electricity is cheap around here.

    Loa
     

Share This Page