Older apple mic

Discussion in 'Mac Basics and Help' started by joecool85, Nov 9, 2005.

  1. joecool85 macrumors 65816

    joecool85

    Joined:
    Mar 9, 2005
    Location:
    Maine
    #1
    My brother gave me a mic that is (I'm assuming) for an older powermac or something. It is beige, looks kinda roundy, and is suppose to mount ontop of a monitor. Here is the problem, it has some sort of non standard size plug that doesn't fit all the way into my PM G5, it's too big at the base. Any help?

    **edit**
    found a pic

    [​IMG]
     
  2. jhu macrumors 6502a

    jhu

    Joined:
    Apr 4, 2004
  3. Makosuke macrumors 603

    Joined:
    Aug 15, 2001
    Location:
    The Cool Part of CA, USA
    #3
    Those mics used a special plug that was, so far as I know, only present on MUCH older Macs (it probably carried power or both sound in and out or something). I'm fairly certain it's not compatible with anything even remotely modern, though I suppose there might be some sort of adapter out there.
     
  4. LimeiBook86 macrumors 604

    LimeiBook86

    Joined:
    May 4, 2002
    Location:
    Go Vegan
    #4
    Those microphones were for older Macs, my friend explained why they had a different plug once but I forgot, acroding to an eBay listing under 'Apple PlainTalk Microphone' they will work up to a PowerMac G4 AGP. I have a few of these mics lying around, along with the Apple standard circle ones. I have seen clear versions of this microphone online meaning that Apple shipped it not too many years ago. I think the plug is for an amplified audio signal or something...I forget :eek:
     
  5. joecool85 thread starter macrumors 65816

    joecool85

    Joined:
    Mar 9, 2005
    Location:
    Maine
    #5
    Yeah, the plug is the same except longer and 3 piece. The tip supplies power for the internal amp in it. (I just did a lot of research.) Apparently its called a PlainTalk mic. Anyway, I guess I can't use it without a lot of modification. The only adapters I can find are ones to use old computers that are suppose to use PlainTalk mics with regular mics. Not the other way around. Oh well. I can grab a cheap mic, I was just hoping to be able to use this cool old one.
     
  6. Graeme Pearce macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jul 24, 2002
    Location:
    33 45.255 south, 151 12.910 east
    #6
    Careful, it's not too old. I still have one connected to a PM7600. Both working well :)

    Gp
     

Share This Page