OMG, Vista looks like OS X ..(Video)

Discussion in 'macOS' started by AJ Muni, May 23, 2006.

  1. AJ Muni macrumors 65816

    AJ Muni

    Joined:
    Aug 4, 2005
    Location:
    Miami
    #1
    I came across this Video and wow, Vista is copying Tiger. Widgets, Spotlight, Expose, Adminstrative privileges..The list goes on and on. Makes ya think how Apple is ahead in the game..and also makes me think 10.5 leopard is going to be amazing..
     
  2. Chaszmyr macrumors 601

    Chaszmyr

    Joined:
    Aug 9, 2002
    #2
    You're right. It looks a lot like OSX, except cooler eye candy, but less functional features.
     
  3. iGary Guest

    iGary

    Joined:
    May 26, 2004
    Location:
    Randy's House
    #3
    Yeah, I noticed teh eye candy is nice, but not useful - it's much nice to show all open windows in Expose versus thet Ferris Wheel thing in Vista.
     
  4. BurtonCCC macrumors 65816

    BurtonCCC

    Joined:
    May 2, 2005
    Location:
    Wheaton/Normal, IL
    #4
    But you can make your application bars transparent! Vista rulez...

    Lame.

    :rolleyes:

    Daniel.
     
  5. Eidorian macrumors Penryn

    Eidorian

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2005
    Location:
    Indianapolis
    #5
    Yeah, it's still very limited when compared to Exposé though. You still have toe slide through all of those individual windows. It's just pretty Alt+Tabbing. :rolleyes:
     
  6. Les Kern macrumors 68040

    Les Kern

    Joined:
    Apr 26, 2002
    Location:
    Alabama
    #6
    I PARTICULARLY like how you can search for an app! Just type in a name! And that help feature is cool... now I can find out quickly why IE7 Beta won't install on my XP macine-from-hell? The $64,000 question: What is Solitare like? Hope it's 3D.
    To be fair, they SEEM to be on the right track, and without actually USING it, I will leave my analysis for when I get my mitts on a copy. That being said, if you look at the feature set (Mac-Like) and know that they did an OS from the ground up, it's curious why they couldn't REALLY do something cool, something beyond OSX. But no, they once AGAIN copied other ideas and wrapped it in a new skin. What an INCREDIBLE waste of the billions they spent on R+D. Hell, if the few of us here got a few billion, bet we could kick some computing ass.
     
  7. AJ Muni thread starter macrumors 65816

    AJ Muni

    Joined:
    Aug 4, 2005
    Location:
    Miami
    #7
    I do that in spotlight all the time..
     
  8. FF_productions macrumors 68030

    FF_productions

    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2005
    Location:
    Mt. Prospect, Illinois
    #8
    That totally pissed me off, Apple came out with all of this at least a year ago...The Expose rip off looks horrible, I agree with iGary, the "Ferris Wheel" thing is really stupid, you have to have a special computer just to have a ferris wheel and some stupid ass little add-ons that are of no meaning to me. Same old Windows to me.
     
  9. Eidorian macrumors Penryn

    Eidorian

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2005
    Location:
    Indianapolis
    #9
    Internet Explorer 7 isn't that bad. Strangely enough I've taken a liking to it running the Beta at work for testing. We have to use Internet Explorer due to healthcare and government web sites using a lot of Active X. I'm trying it our for compatibility. It's a RAM hog just like FireFox once you fire up the tabs. I normally get 80-110 MB of usage. Sure, the smarter users will get FireFox, etc. but for the packaged browser it's a MAJOR improvement over Internet Explorer 6.

    More like Quicksilver. AMIRITE?
     
  10. mkrishnan Moderator emeritus

    mkrishnan

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2004
    Location:
    Grand Rapids, MI, USA
    #10
    I do have to say that there are some pretty nice features in Vista... in particular, I think MS has always done a really nice job with built-in help in their apps (particularly in Office) -- better than Apple built-in help. They've had features like the "show me how" thing before, but it's nice to see it get more broadly implemented.

    On the other hand...it does concern me a little bit that he typed in "word" in the search engine, and got one hit, for WordPad. :eek: I got 3400+ hits for Word on my iBook, and it *still* managed to make MS Word the first hit. :p From that Aero Ferris Wheel thing, he had plenty of apps installed. And presumably content. And was clearly surprised that Word didn't even manage to come up on the hit list. They might need to work on that! :eek: :eek:
     
  11. Les Kern macrumors 68040

    Les Kern

    Joined:
    Apr 26, 2002
    Location:
    Alabama
    #11
    I imagine it could be, but I couldn't load it to TRY it. Now understand, I'm a pretty knowledgeable tech director... and I can sure follow the directions I got when it failed, but should I have to? It's the SAME thing with their 100 million lines-of-code OS... too much, too much eye candy not enough innovation. I'm tired or retreads, and I want something new and exciting... and Vista AIN'T it.


    =================
    Error message when you try to install Internet Explorer 7 Beta 2: "Internet Explorer could not be installed"
    View products that this article applies to.
    Article ID : 917925
    Last Review : May 19, 2006
    Revision : 2.2
    Important This article contains information about how to modify the registry. Make sure to back up the registry before you modify it. Make sure that you know how to restore the registry if a problem occurs. For more information about how to back up, restore, and modify the registry, click the following article number to view the article in the Microsoft Knowledge Base:
    256986 (http://support.microsoft.com/kb/256986/) Description of the Microsoft Windows registry
    On This Page
    SYMPTOMSSYMPTOMS
    CAUSECAUSE
    WORKAROUNDWORKAROUND
    Method 1Method 1
    Method 2Method 2
    Method 3Method 3
    STATUSSTATUS
    MORE INFORMATIONMORE INFORMATION
    SYMPTOMS
    When you try to install Microsoft Internet Explorer 7 Beta 2, the installation wizard finishes, but the last screen displays the following error message:
    Internet Explorer 7 could not be installed. You must restart your system to confirm that any changes to your system are undone.

    After restarting, follow the "Internet Explorer Troubleshooting" shortcut on your desktop to get more information.
    Back to the top Back to the top
    CAUSE
    This issue may occur when permissions for one or more registry subkeys on the computer are restricted in a way that prevents the update of those registry subkeys. A failure to update a registry key may cause the Setup program to fail.
    Back to the top Back to the top
    WORKAROUND
    Warning Serious problems might occur if you modify the registry incorrectly by using Registry Editor or by using another method. These problems might require that you reinstall your operating system. Microsoft cannot guarantee that these problems can be solved. Modify the registry at your own risk.

    The steps outlined in this article involve changing permissions on registry keys to allow installation of Internet Explorer 7. Although modifying the permissions is required to install Internet Explorer 7, in some cases these permissions could be configured for a specific reason. Make sure you understand if any such reasons exist and the potential impact of modifying registry permissions before making them. In addition, you can modify registry permissions to allow installation of Internet Explorer 7 and change them back to their original configuration after setup is complete.
    Back to the top Back to the top
    Method 1
    1. Verify that there is a failure to update the registry. To do this, follow these steps:
    a. Download the Internet Explorer 7 Beta 2 Registry Diagnostic Tool from the following Microsoft Web site:
    DownloadDownload the IE7Registry.exe package now. (http://www.microsoft.com/downloads/d...displaylang=en)
    Note If you choose not to download the tool, use Method 2.
    b. Start the tool by double-clicking it's icon, and then clicking Check in the dialog box that appears.
    c. If the tool reports that errors are found, click Yes to view the log file. Log entries appear similar to the following:

    ACL too tight: Registry_key


    NoteRegistry_Key is the specific registry subkey that has incorrect permissions.
    d. If the tool reports that no problems are found, this article does not apply to you.
    2. Reset the registry permissions for the registry subkey that has the incorrect permissions. To update the permissions of the registry subkey, follow these steps:
    a. Click Start, click Run, type regedit, and then click OK.
    b. Locate and then right-click each registry subkey that you noted in step 1c, and then click Permissions.
    c. Under Group or user names, click Administrators.
    d. Under Permissions for Administrators, make sure that the Allow check box is selected for the following entries:
    • Full Control
    • Read
    e. Click Apply, and then click OK.
    f. On the File menu, click Exit.
    Back to the top Back to the top
    Method 2
    1. Verify that there is a failure to update the registry. To do this, follow these steps:
    a. Click Start, click Run, type %windir%\ie7beta2.log, and then click OK to open the Ie7beta2.log file.

    Note By default, the Ie7beta2.log file is located in the C:\Windows folder.
    b. On the Edit menu, click Find.
    c. In the Find what box, type DoRegistryUpdates failed, and then click Find Next. If you locate a "DoRegistryUpdates failed" error message, a problem exists that is preventing the update of the registry. The error message will resemble the following example:
    time_stamp: DoInstallationoRegistryUpdates failed. time_stamp: Access is denied. time_stamp: Internet Explorer 7 installation did not complete. Select ‘OK’ to undo changes that have been made..
    d. If you do not locate a "DoRegistryUpdates failed" error message, use Method 3 to solve this problem.
    2. If a registry permission failure has occurred, locate the registry subkey that requires different permissions. To do this, follow these steps:
    a. Click Start, click Run, type %windir%\updspapi.log, and then click OK to open the Updspapi.log file.

    Note By default, the Updspapi.log file is located in the C:\Windows folder.
    b. Press CTRL+END to move to the end of the Updspapi.log file.
    c. On the Edit menu, click Find.
    d. In the Find what box, type Error 5: Access is denied.
    e. Under Direction, click Up, and then click Find Next.

    The entry in the Setupapi.log file will resemble the following example:
    #E008 Setting registry value Registry_Key #E033 Error 5: Access is denied.
    Note Registry_Key indicates the specific registry subkey that has incorrect permissions.
    3. Reset the registry permissions for the registry subkey that has the incorrect permissions. To update the permissions of the registry subkey, follow these steps:
    a. Click Start, click Run, type regedit, and then click OK.
    b. Locate and then right-click the registry subkey that you noted in step 2e, and then click Permissions.

    Note The Updspapi.log file contains the following abbreviations:
    • HKCR = HKEY_CLASSES_ROOT
    • HKLM = HKEY_LOCAL_MACHINE
    • HKCU = HKEY_CURRENT_USER
    c. Under Group or user names, click Administrators.
    d. Under Permissions for Administrators, make sure that the Allow check box is selected for the following entries:
    • Full Control
    • Read
    e. Click Apply, and then click OK.
    f. On the File menu, click Exit.
    Back to the top Back to the top
    Method 3
    Use this method if you did not find a "DoRegistryUpdates failed" error message in step 1c of Method 2.
    1. Verify that there is a failure to update the registry. To do this, follow these steps,
    a. Click Start, click Run, type %windir%\ie7beta2.log, and then click OK to open the Ie7beta2.log file.

    Note By default, the Ie7beta2.log file is located in the C:\Windows folder.
    b. On the Edit menu, click Find.
    c. In the Find what box, type ArchiveRegistrySettings failed, and then click Find Next.
    d. If you locate an "ArchiveRegistrySettings failed" error message, a problem exists that is preventing the backup of the registry. The error message will be similar to the following example:
    time_stamp: DoInstallation:ArchiveRegistrySettings failed. time_stamp: DeRegistering the Uninstall Program -> ie7beta2, 2 time_stamp: Internet Explorer 7 Setup canceled
    2. If a registry permissions failure has occurred, locate the registry subkey that requires different permissions. To do this, follow these steps:
    a. Restart the computer.
    b. Download the Registry Monitor utility (Regmon.exe). To do this, visit the following Sysinternals Web site:
    http://www.sysinternals.com/utilities/regmon.html (http://www.sysinternals.com/utilities/regmon.html)
    c. Extract the contents of the zipped file to a folder on the desktop, start the Registry Monitor utility, and then start Internet Explorer 7 Setup.
    d. Press CTRL+E to stop capturing events in the Registry Monitor utility.
    e. On the Options menu, click Filter/Highlight, and then clear the contents of the Include box.
    f. In the Include box, type update.exe; iesetup.exe, and then click OK.
    g. Press CTRL+X to clear the log, and then press CTRL+E to start capturing events again.
    h. Continue Internet Explorer 7 Setup.
    i. When Setup fails, click the Registry Monitor window, and then press CTRL+E to stop capturing events.
    j. Press CTRL+F, type access denied, and then click OK to find the "access denied" entry.
    k. Note the registry path on the "access denied" line.
    3. Reset the registry permissions for the registry subkey that has the incorrect permissions. To update the permissions for the registry subkey, follow these steps:
    a. Click Start, click Run, type regedit, and then click OK.
    b. Locate and then right-click the registry subkey that you noted in step 2k, and then click Permissions.
    c. Under Group or user names, click Administrators.
    d. Under Permissions for Administrators, make sure that the Allow check box is selected for the following entries:
    • Full Control
    • Read
    e. Click Apply, and then click OK.
    f. On the File menu, click Exit.
    Back to the top Back to the top
    STATUS
    Microsoft has confirmed that this is a problem in the Microsoft products that are listed in the "Applies to" section.
     
  12. sk1985 macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jan 13, 2006
    #12
    OSX still looks a lot cleaner and easier to use. Start windows are so early 90s. Thats such a dated function. Its also funny how they blatantly stole OSX's way of displaying widgets (gadgets in this case). Also to get that look you need a pretty new PC which kind of sucks. OSX's look for the most part is accessible to almost all macs made in the last 3 to 4 years. Aside from the eye candy, I really think OSX looks leagues better. I imagine with OSX's next build you'd have a heavy version of it (i.e. more eye candy then what's already used) and a normal version like the one we have now. Anyway I bet Leopard will look smoking and I bet Stevie J's next OS will be even better then vista (OSXI).
     
  13. Pokeon macrumors newbie

    Pokeon

    Joined:
    May 4, 2006
    Location:
    -= Somewhere in space =-
    #13
    The window preview is cool... and that expose clone looked like Task Gallary MS was working on ages ago.
     
  14. macdaddy121 macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2003
    Location:
    Georgia
    #14
    I hate to say it but it looks like a huge step for Microsoft. Good news is that my new mac will be able to run both right?
     
  15. theBB macrumors 68020

    theBB

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2006
    #15
    He was being sarcastic. :)

    It amazes me how Vista has so few things (if any) above and beyond OSX, but has such demanding hardware requirements. MS software is so inefficient...
     
  16. macsrockmysocks macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Feb 21, 2006
  17. Mr_Brightside_@ macrumors 68000

    Mr_Brightside_@

    Joined:
    Sep 23, 2005
    Location:
    The 6ix
    #17
    well... at least now i can tell my PC uncle that if he likes it, which he will, that OSX is just one step away... jeez. but i kind of liked aroglass thingy
     
  18. Heb1228 macrumors 68020

    Heb1228

    Joined:
    Feb 3, 2004
    Location:
    Virginia Beach, VA
    #18
    Try 6 years. My iMac will do almost everything but the ripple effect in dashboard. Not usually as smoothly, granted, but it still does them.
     
  19. luminosity macrumors 65816

    luminosity

    Joined:
    Jan 10, 2006
    Location:
    Arizona
    #19
    Leopard will be the one hunting longhorn (i.e. vista), and will do it with gusto.
     
  20. DeathChill macrumors 68000

    Joined:
    Jul 15, 2005
    #20
    To be fair Apple wasn't really the first to do Widgets recently and Spotlight wasn't insanely original either. Expose is just eye candy really, but still useful. Let's not even talk about Administrative privileges because we ALL KNOW OS X wasn't the first with them.

    Vista does seem to be just a half-assed OS X though, however people seem to forget the one nice feature of Vista: you can turn off all the useless eye candy, you can't in OS X. I'll still use OS X but I'm not afraid to give Vista a shot.
     
  21. ToddW macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Feb 26, 2004
    #21
    it's still microsoft and will cost $$$ for some of the basic features of an OS and not come with squat. I will still have to tweak registry setting after registry setting to get something like the freaking time to update. vista is just xp repackaged to look cool. i still prefer os x, a true os that can do it all, come with everthing i need for music, movies, photos. lets see windows do that. after having to get windows to work everyday it is a joy to come home to my iMac and OSX, vista can shove it!
     
  22. dornoforpyros macrumors 68040

    dornoforpyros

    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2004
    Location:
    Calgary, AB
  23. bluedevil14 macrumors regular

    bluedevil14

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2006
    Location:
    Washington, DC
    #23
    i hate it when people copy apple/OSX:mad: :mad: :mad: :eek: :eek:
    ... stupid mircosoft
     
  24. monke macrumors 65816

    monke

    Joined:
    May 30, 2005
    #24
    The reviewer acts like he is witnessing all new technology. Where has he been stuck it the last couple of years.

    The thing that most people know, but sometimes forget, is that MS doesn't make their own computers (except the Xbox), never mind a whole product line. Unlike Apple.

    If Apple can pump out an OS every few years, update iPods, add new software, and constantly keep their computers up to date is simply amazing to what Microsoft does.
     
  25. cplusON3R macrumors regular

    Joined:
    May 8, 2006
    Location:
    Dirty Jersey

Share This Page