OmniWeb 4.1 ??

Discussion in 'Mac Apps and Mac App Store' started by sparkleytone, Mar 4, 2002.

  1. sparkleytone macrumors 68020

    sparkleytone

    Joined:
    Oct 28, 2001
    Location:
    Greensboro, NC
    #1
    i cant get into ANY of their website and they havent released a sneakypeek in a few weeks. Is the new version out??? Is that why its down???
     
  2. MacAztec macrumors 68040

    MacAztec

    Joined:
    Oct 28, 2001
    Location:
    San Luis Obispo, CA
    #2
    Omni...

    Omniweb is to slow on my G3/333. I think IE is really good, and that is why I use it.
     
  3. blackpeter macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Aug 14, 2001
    #3
    Like it or not - IE is the best we've got. Better & simpler to use it until a better alternative comes along.
     
  4. sparkleytone thread starter macrumors 68020

    sparkleytone

    Joined:
    Oct 28, 2001
    Location:
    Greensboro, NC
    #4
    omni is the best for my use 99% of the time. very rarely do i use IE. Omni is much better looking and is now faster than IE. (4.1 betas)
     
  5. Beej macrumors 68020

    Beej

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2002
    Location:
    Buffy's bedroom
    #5
    I agree whole-heartedly. I love OmniWeb almost as much as I love my Mac.
     
  6. Beej macrumors 68020

    Beej

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2002
    Location:
    Buffy's bedroom
    #6
    I just checked their website and it's working fine for me...
     
  7. Taft macrumors 65816

    Taft

    Joined:
    Jan 31, 2002
    Location:
    Chicago
    #7
    Back to the original question...

    When is 4.1 coming out???

    They originally said early Feb, didn't they? I'm getting anxious for the final release...

    Matthew
     
  8. AlphaTech macrumors 601

    AlphaTech

    Joined:
    Oct 4, 2001
    Location:
    Natick, MA
    #8
    Does anyone happen to know when the beta will be a full release???

    I avoid beta software, for the most part, since it can be rather unstable and can bring your system to it's knees. Beta's are also, typically, a 'use at your own risk' type application/package.
     
  9. AlphaTech macrumors 601

    AlphaTech

    Joined:
    Oct 4, 2001
    Location:
    Natick, MA
    #9
    I downloaded the latest non-beta version of Omniweb just to see what it is like. One problem right off the bat that I came up with. I went to www.harley-davidson.com and was told that the browser doesn't have enough horsepower. Imagine that....

    I wonder if the next version will overcome that kind of problem.
     
  10. AmbitiousLemon Moderator emeritus

    AmbitiousLemon

    Joined:
    Nov 28, 2001
    Location:
    down in Fraggle Rock
    #10
    it said not enough horsepower? thats funny stuff. it might be the use of flash (just a wild guess). got to love those harley web designers though for that kind of error message.
     
  11. AlphaTech macrumors 601

    AlphaTech

    Joined:
    Oct 4, 2001
    Location:
    Natick, MA
    #11
    I got a kick out of it... Check it out if you have Omniweb on your system... :D
     
  12. kishba macrumors 6502a

    kishba

    Joined:
    Dec 11, 2001
    Location:
    Michigan
    #12
    you can already get over the "problem"

    basically the site checks to see what browser your using... if the "name" isn't ie or netscape it won't let you in

    you can bypass this in the preferences panel "compatibility" in omniweb (just change the name to pc ie for kicks)

    hope that helps!
     
  13. AlphaTech macrumors 601

    AlphaTech

    Joined:
    Oct 4, 2001
    Location:
    Natick, MA
    #13
    kishba, doesn't fly... even setting the netscape version higher then what it is asking for doesn't help.

    Looks like it is too limited for my needs... Unless someone knows exactly what to put in those fields to make it fool web sites... Every other browser that I have has no problems getting to the site. Omni is the ONLY one to make it say f*ck off and get a better browser... oh well, back to IE and Netscrape
     
  14. AlphaTech macrumors 601

    AlphaTech

    Joined:
    Oct 4, 2001
    Location:
    Natick, MA
    #14
    I just sent an email to the Omni people... I wonder if I will ever hear back from them.
     
  15. kishba macrumors 6502a

    kishba

    Joined:
    Dec 11, 2001
    Location:
    Michigan
    #15
    i went to there web site after selecting the pc ie from the drop down menu
     
  16. Kid Red macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Dec 14, 2001
    #16
    Well, if that's your only hang up, go get the latest version, harleydavidson worked fine for me in OW. IE is more supported but is still the crappiest of the bunch. I can't wait for a few more tweaks to OW, that's why 4.1 isn't out yet. As long as they keep relasing sneakypeek biulds and there are some issues, I'd imagine the longer it will take to get to 4.1
     
  17. AlphaTech macrumors 601

    AlphaTech

    Joined:
    Oct 4, 2001
    Location:
    Natick, MA
    #17
    Where??? I don't see any drop down menu's in that section of the preferences. Remember, this is the NON-BETA version.

    This is getting wayyyyyyyy too complicated... IE and netscape are both click and go... no jumping through hoops just to go to a site.

    At this point, I could make a list the length of my arm about the flaws in all three browsers. At least I can go to every site I want to in both ie and netscape right off the bat.
     
  18. chmorley macrumors 6502a

    chmorley

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2002
    Location:
    Denver, CO
    #18
    Try this...

    If you haven't tried Mozilla yet, you should. It is fast and compliant.

    The one that I think will catch up to (and surpass) OmniWeb soon is Chimera. While it is not yet ready for prime time, I think it will be soon.

    OW is pretty, but slow. Chimera promises a Cocoa browser with an Aqua front end. While the Quartz anti-aliasing isn't yet finished, the developers say it will be soon. It is already blazingly fast. If the Omni group doesn't get on the stick, they will be irrelevant.

    Chris
     
  19. AlphaTech macrumors 601

    AlphaTech

    Joined:
    Oct 4, 2001
    Location:
    Natick, MA
    #19
    Tried mozilla... it's just as ugly as netscape is. I wanted to try the theme feature on it, and it crashed. If it doesn't support that option, then it shouldn't be in the menu. That was the first time a browser crashed when trying to get to one of the built in features. At least, under OS X, and for me.

    People have been praising the other browsers, and bashing ie and netscape so much that I figured I would give them a try. Say what you like about ie and netscape, they are very easy to use. With minimal configuring if any.
     
  20. AlphaTech macrumors 601

    AlphaTech

    Joined:
    Oct 4, 2001
    Location:
    Natick, MA
    #20
    Re: Try this...

    Well what do ya know... Once I was actually able to get down to Chimera and download it, it works better then omniweb. No error messages about needing to update my browser (HD site for ow). It did take longer to load, but maybe that will improve with time.

    I do not like the fact that you cannot change the preferences though. Nor can you organize your bookmarks, or import them from other applications. It still needs major work to come close to what I need. I originally thought it could, but have to take that back.
     
  21. kishba macrumors 6502a

    kishba

    Joined:
    Dec 11, 2001
    Location:
    Michigan
    #21
    I'm using the beta version... sorry for the confusion--but you should try the sneaky peaks (beta) there is nothing buggy about it.
     
  22. prechrchet macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Mar 5, 2002
    #22
    <<Where??? I don't see any drop down menu's in that section of the
    preferences. Remember, this is the NON-BETA version. >>

    Go to the Omni Web Menu (just to the right of the apple menu) and click on "Preferences." This will bring up the prefrences panel, and the compatibilty icon should be there.

    Chet
     
  23. sparkleytone thread starter macrumors 68020

    sparkleytone

    Joined:
    Oct 28, 2001
    Location:
    Greensboro, NC
    #23
    Alpha you should have read my post about getting flash to work. It works fine for me if I identify as IE 5.1 OS X.

    Make sure that flash is working www.shockwave.com is what i use to test.

    If not, download the latest os X version which is available at the apple OS X site.

    then view info on the omniweb.app and go to plugins. add the Shockwave plugin from Internet Plug-Ins.

    again, you should really use at least the latest beta if not the latest sneakypeeks, they are very stable and MUCH faster. also, HTML parsing is getting much cleaner, more compliant, and Netscape plugin support is working pretty well.
     
  24. Taft macrumors 65816

    Taft

    Joined:
    Jan 31, 2002
    Location:
    Chicago
    #24
    Re: Re: Try this...

    The problem in loading the site in OW is as much the site's fault as it is OmniWeb's. The site is expecting ALL BROWSERS that hit the site to be either IE or Netscape. If your browser doesn't identify itself as either IE or Netscape the Harley site just gives up regardless of wether or not the site will load on your browser of choice.

    The last time I checked, there were more than two browsers in the world, making Harley's limitation a bit extreme. The only thing OmniWeb could do differently is to identify itself as another browser by default, which is problematic.

    However, the real source of the problem is the lack of standards for browsers. If there were any kind of Javascript or html tag standards, these problems wouldn't exists and all pages would be viewable on any properly implemented browser. If you want to lay fault, lay fault on the browser war and, more directly, MS.

    Matthew
     
  25. AlphaTech macrumors 601

    AlphaTech

    Joined:
    Oct 4, 2001
    Location:
    Natick, MA
    #25
    Re: Re: Re: Try this...

    Judging by my own experience, as well as people I talk with on a daily basis, I would say that about 99% of the world uses either ie or netscape. I wouldn't expect any site to try and cater to the 1% or less of the systems out there. Considering how just about every system shipped comes with either ie or netscape pre-installed, asking sites to be compatible with the others is a bit much. I would more likely ask the people that make the other browsers to make sure they are compatible with sites optimized for either ie and/or netscape. Then you wouldn't need to f*ck with the preferences and such just to use it for sites you visit often.
     

Share This Page