"On Macintosh, portrait mode requires a high-end graphics such as ATI Radeon x800"

Discussion in 'Mac Accessories' started by andyjamesnelson, Oct 9, 2006.

  1. andyjamesnelson macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Aug 24, 2003
    Location:
    Jacob's house
    #1
    Hey,

    I was looking at a Lacie display - the Lacie 320 and it says this

    On Macintosh, portrait mode requires a high-end graphic board such as ATI Radeon x800

    Does this mean tha the flip to portrait mode is controlled by the card and needs no other software? Will this actually work on a new Mac?

    Andy.
     
  2. Counterfit macrumors G3

    Counterfit

    Joined:
    Aug 20, 2003
    Location:
    sitting on your shoulder
    #2
    Hmm, just the other night I used a TV as an external display on my PB and rotated it 180° for kicks. I certainly don't have a x800. 9600 Mobility.
     
  3. Dreadnought macrumors 68020

    Dreadnought

    Joined:
    Jul 22, 2002
    Location:
    Almere, The Netherlands
    #3
    I rather think this was the first card that let's you do portrait mode on a mac. Unfortunately, other cards don't (those in the Mac Pro) don't support it.
     
  4. jsw Moderator emeritus

    jsw

    Joined:
    Mar 16, 2004
    Location:
    Andover, MA
    #4
    FWIW, I have a 20" Dell connected to my 17" 1st-gen Intellimac, and it allows a rotated display (Radeon X1600).
     
  5. Makosuke macrumors 603

    Joined:
    Aug 15, 2001
    Location:
    The Cool Part of CA, USA
    #5
    I was under the impression that any even moderately new ATI card/chip supports this, but Nvidia's drivers generally don't.

    I know my old 9800 pro does portrait, and I'm pretty sure even lower end cards than that will. I currently have ATI cards in everything I use, so I can't speak for Nvidia cards, but at least at one point them not being able to do portrait was a complaint.
     
  6. xfiftyfour macrumors 68030

    xfiftyfour

    Joined:
    Apr 14, 2006
    Location:
    Clemson, SC
    #6
    My MB can display my 2407wfp in portrait mode just fine, just FYI.
     

Share This Page