on MBP heat, as compared to current/old 'books

Discussion in 'Mac Pro' started by Miles Davis, Apr 19, 2006.

1. Miles Davis macrumors member

Mar 22, 2004
    Hey all,

I recieved my MBP the other day and love so many things about it. While I do have the screen whine (that goes away with Photobooth), the deal breaker for me is becoming the heat issue. This book is HOT! I know, it has been said before, and I understand the argument that all laptops are hot, but I am a student and enjoy sitting with my computer on my lap and typing, something I could always do with my iBook. It is getting to the point that I put my MBP down for a while because it is uncomfortable or heats up my body, making me sweat. (Which is especially true when my wrists are on it while typing).

Anyhow, I really don't want to have to put this up on eBay, but if I have a machine that I am uncomfortable using, it will be useless. My question is then, how would you compare this heat to the heat on the other iBooks and Powerbooks? The iBook was never bad, but how about the 12" PB? Is it more the aluminum enclosure or that it is using an Intel chip? Hence, would the G4 be inherently cooler? And then, would the new Macbook in iBook plastic be cooler or similarly hot.

I would hate to go back to the screen of the iBook (I imagine the 12PB has the same brightness as well.)

Any advice? It is hotter as I have typed this!

2. calebjohnston macrumors 68000

Jan 24, 2006
    The MBP's are very hot. I'd say about the same temperature as the PB's. Apple has the software down incredibly, but I think they have a ways to go with figuring out how to manage heat in laptops, and getting the DAMN HINGES TO BE STRAIGHT GRRR.

Sorry, little rant. :)
  3. baby duck monge macrumors 68000

baby duck monge

Feb 16, 2003
    Memphis, TN