On/Off button ACD

Discussion in 'Mac Pro' started by Dreadnought, Aug 27, 2006.

  1. Dreadnought macrumors 68020

    Dreadnought

    Joined:
    Jul 22, 2002
    Location:
    Almere, The Netherlands
    #1
    Hi all,

    I went to buy a Razer ProSolutions mouse (very very sweet mouse btw) today and also saw in the Apple section of the store the ACD's and always wanted one. Now I have decided that I want a 23" for sure. But when I was playing with it and I pushed the On/Off button on the side of the screen, a window pops up asking if I want to shut down the computer/put it to sleep/restart/etc. I just want that the screen goes out, and that my Mac keeps on doing what it is doing. And I mean really out, not that it is in powersaver mode, but that the power is really off. How do you do that with an ACD? Can you programm the on/off button?

    Thanks, Dreadnought
     
  2. mustard macrumors 6502a

    mustard

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2005
    Location:
    NJ
    #2
    Go to system prefs - > Display -> options then modify the " Display Power Button" choices to your desired setting.
     
  3. minimalistic macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jul 5, 2006
    Location:
    Santiago, Chile
    #3
    Thanks alot for the tip Mustard, I was wondering the same thing:p
     
  4. Dreadnought thread starter macrumors 68020

    Dreadnought

    Joined:
    Jul 22, 2002
    Location:
    Almere, The Netherlands
    #4
    Thanks a lot! Now I'm definately going to get a 23" ACD. Hopefully I can trade in my old G3 B&W and get a nice price for that! Finally a beautifull display that goes with my G5!
     
  5. mustard macrumors 6502a

    mustard

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2005
    Location:
    NJ
    #5
    NO Problem!:)
     
  6. Trippy Jr macrumors member

    Joined:
    Aug 10, 2006
    #6
    That's the default, if I remember right. You can also set it to just turn the display off, or set it to do nothing at all if you want.
     
  7. Dreadnought thread starter macrumors 68020

    Dreadnought

    Joined:
    Jul 22, 2002
    Location:
    Almere, The Netherlands
    #7
    Thanks for the answers, I figured it had to be somewhere in the prefs, but the store secured the Mac Mini in such a way I couldn't do anything, not even open a jpg. You would have to ask a salesrep that doesn't know anything bout Apples... LOL
     

Share This Page