One button mouse?Why???

Discussion in 'Macintosh Computers' started by Rajj, May 26, 2003.

  1. Rajj macrumors 6502a

    Rajj

    Joined:
    May 29, 2002
    Location:
    32° 44' N 117° 10' W
    #1
    I always wondered on why is Apple comfortable with the one button mouse, or why they choose to use a one button mouse anyway?

    Any thoughts?
    :confused:
     
  2. beatle888 macrumors 68000

    beatle888

    Joined:
    Feb 3, 2002
    #2
    ive heard the reason many times. here on macrumors no less. i believe the decision was made when the average person really knew nothing about computers. apple felt it wasnt necessary to confuse the user, and they were right. but now that the masses have some basic understanding of the mouse, their crying for more. me....i just got another mouse. no biggy.
     
  3. mac15 macrumors 68040

    mac15

    Joined:
    Dec 29, 2001
    Location:
    Sydney
  4. Rajj thread starter macrumors 6502a

    Rajj

    Joined:
    May 29, 2002
    Location:
    32° 44' N 117° 10' W
    #4
    I couldn?t agree more that the average user don?t know squat about a computer, but what about the pro users?
     
  5. beatle888 macrumors 68000

    beatle888

    Joined:
    Feb 3, 2002
    #5
    well thats a damn good point. :D i tend to lump the consumer and pro line together. your damn right, wtf are they thinking? especially since that maya push that happened about...what a year and a half ago.

    oh damn im getting all worried. this wasnt a very good weekend for apple on the rumor boards. seems like everyone hates or is dissapointed in them to some degree lately. and now the news about the 970 not doing very well againse amd's and intels 64 bit chip. god i dont wanna go to pc land. they just dont THINK about all the details like apple does. sure apple has made some mistakes like the one button mouse for pro users but for the most part...i really love interfacing with my mac.
     
  6. Rajj thread starter macrumors 6502a

    Rajj

    Joined:
    May 29, 2002
    Location:
    32° 44' N 117° 10' W
    #6
    Two buttons can accelerate your performance if you use shortcuts a lot(like copy and paste), especially if your job is on the line (like mine)!!
     
  7. Wyrm macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jan 7, 2003
    Location:
    Toekeeyoe, Japan
    #7
    Like beatle888 was saying, just go to the local store and buy a 2 button mouse. Sure it might ruin the Wa, but you get 2 buttons.

    I have a MS (dread) Intellimouse with a scroll wheel, and it works great in OS-X.

    -Wyrm
     
  8. Rajj thread starter macrumors 6502a

    Rajj

    Joined:
    May 29, 2002
    Location:
    32° 44' N 117° 10' W
    #8
    I have a TiBook, and when I am on a plane, there is no room for an external two-button mouse?.damn it!!
    :rolleyes: :rolleyes: ;) :p :cool:
     
  9. Jimong5 macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jul 22, 2002
    #9
    Ya know.... Im sure theres 80000 topics on this.. Id like to give a MR forum tour....
     

    Attached Files:

  10. beatle888 macrumors 68000

    beatle888

    Joined:
    Feb 3, 2002
  11. Wyrm macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jan 7, 2003
    Location:
    Toekeeyoe, Japan
    #11
    Well the Intellimouse is optical, so you can use the arm-rest, back of the seat, or the guy next to you as a pad.
    :D

    -Wyrm
     
  12. Rajj thread starter macrumors 6502a

    Rajj

    Joined:
    May 29, 2002
    Location:
    32° 44' N 117° 10' W
    #12
  13. moby1 macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2002
    Location:
    Sunny San Diego
  14. dswoodley macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Jul 18, 2002
    #14
    but wouldn't it be cool if at least Apple gave you the choice? Personally I am kind of clumsy with the mouse so I prefer the one button, but they should at least let it be the consumers choice!
     
  15. Mblazened macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Dec 20, 2002
    Location:
    The Valley
  16. Snowy_River macrumors 68030

    Snowy_River

    Joined:
    Jul 17, 2002
    Location:
    Corvallis, OR
    #16
    Oh, please, let's not get into the split mouse button on a laptop. I hate those with a passion. They are never easy to use. I will always prefer using the control-click combination, or an external mouse (or, in my case, multi-button track ball).

    As for giving pro-users a choice, almost all pro-users, both Mac and Windows, that I've known have promptly replaced the mouse that came with their computer with one of their liking. Therefore, I don't think that it's such a huge issue. (But, to the extent that it is, rumors point to a new multi-button pro mouse...)


    25...
     
  17. ibookin' macrumors 65816

    ibookin'

    Joined:
    Jul 7, 2002
    Location:
    Los Angeles, CA
    #17
    Re: One Button Blues.

    I see someone's been browsing the SpyMac CD Cover contest. :D

    Anyway, I have a Logitech mouse that I bought a few years ago (I believe it is a MouseMan+ or something, 3 buttons plus a scrollwheel), but I use it on my PC. Why, you ask? Because I like the look of the Pro Mouse, and the Logitech would spoil the beauty of the iMac/Pro KB combo.

    I'm sure there are nice looking two button/scroll whell mice out there; I've even seen some at MacWorld, retailers, etc., but I have to say you can't beat the aesthetics of the Pro Mouse.
     
  18. maradong macrumors 65816

    maradong

    Joined:
    Mar 7, 2003
    Location:
    Luxembourg
    #18
    Re: One button mouse?Why???

    why shall they use 2 buttons ? i worked perfectly well without any mouse 3 months during 3 weeks ago while i tried to install the xserver on my debian...
     
  19. Catt macrumors member

    Joined:
    May 21, 2003
    Location:
    London, UK
    #19
    I must say that my experience of one button mousing on an iMac has been terrible.
    I normally use a PC; a laptop with a cordless Logitech thumb driven trackball. When my mum got an iMac I loved it - until I tried to use the mouse! For the average PC user the mac shipping with a single button mouse is really annoying. To the extent that at times I got really frustrated because everything seemed to take three times as long.
    Seeing as Apple is trying to get PC users to switch this one button fetish doesn't make much sense to me. If an average PC user (which I'm not) tried to use a display Mac in a store they will likely come away with a bad impression because Apple claims that the Mac platform is much easier and more intuitive than the PC, but only having one button on the standard mouse is like trying to tie a knot in a silk thread with skie gloves one for a PC user.
     
  20. DeKa macrumors member

    Joined:
    Sep 13, 2002
    Location:
    Sydney Australia
    #20
    Catt,

    Just use CTRL and click - either way you've got to move a finger ;)

    It annoyed me when I first moved to my new iMac but I got used to it.

    I've even been known to use my Apple Pro Mouse with the Toshiba laptop on occasions :eek:

    Guess what Windows 98 detects it as? "Apple Mouse" Glad to see MS supports it!

    Derek.
     
  21. Jimong5 macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jul 22, 2002
    #21
    So you had to Buy that Logitech seperate... So why cant you do the same with The iMac? And why go from a cheap 1 button to a cheap 2 button, just to have a 2 button mouse to get rid of?
     
  22. Catt macrumors member

    Joined:
    May 21, 2003
    Location:
    London, UK
    #22
    All I'm saying is I find it a bit odd why Apple doesn't supply its products with two-button mice because they are easier to use. I could use my logitech with the iMac but that wouldn't make much sense because I use the logitech with my laptop, I don't want to have to keep swapping between the two machines.
     
  23. iJon macrumors 604

    iJon

    Joined:
    Feb 7, 2002
    #23
    then go to best buy and buy a new 2 button mouse for about 5 dollars if go on the right day. its not that big of a deal. people use the single button mouse, if they dont like it then go buy another one of their choice.

    iJon
     
  24. Snowy_River macrumors 68030

    Snowy_River

    Joined:
    Jul 17, 2002
    Location:
    Corvallis, OR
    #24
    As you say, you are not an average user. A great percentage of the people that I know that I would consider 'average users', who work under Windows, don't use the right click except when they have to (i.e. there is no other way to do what they want to do). I've even heard some Windows users say that the wish there was a better way to do things than to use contextual menus (to paraphrase, using the proper terminology). These are the people that Apple is targeting with the one button mouse.


    24...
     
  25. mrjamin macrumors 65816

    mrjamin

    Joined:
    Feb 6, 2003
    Location:
    Strongbadia
    #25
    i have a 5 button M$ mouse - i hate using anything else. When you're using the Adobe apps, there's so many keystroke+click functions that assigning them to various mouse buttons is incredibly useful. My setup:

    Left side click: Ctrl
    Left button: default
    Middle button: Double click (i.e. one of the middle button effectively doubeclicks, VERY useful)
    Right click: Option+click
    Right Side button: Alt
     

Share This Page