One creepy bug of the wicked kind

Discussion in 'Mac OS X 10.3 (Panther) Discussion' started by sebisworld, Dec 5, 2003.

  1. sebisworld macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jun 24, 2003
    #1
    Well, have a look at the picture. It is the newest release of Panther (10.3.1) and I guess it is time for a reboot.
     
  2. sebisworld thread starter macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jun 24, 2003
    #2
    Huh, here is the file:
     

    Attached Files:

  3. yoman macrumors 6502a

    yoman

    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2003
    Location:
    In the Bowels of the Cosmos
    #3
    that's an awesome bug

    i haven't seen a bug that neat in a long time. Congrats.
     
  4. sebisworld thread starter macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jun 24, 2003
    #4
    Yeah, it is definitely neat. It reminds me of some problems that I used to have with Windows 98. Unfortunately, the reboot frequency that I now enjoy using Panther also reminds of the second-to-worst OS ever Win 98 (Of course, there is still Win ME).
    Does anyone know how i could submit this bug? Maybe in a way that would actually make people at Apple read about it?
     
  5. hobbes3113 macrumors regular

    hobbes3113

    Joined:
    Oct 18, 2002
    Location:
    NYC
    #5
    Is this real??

    Is this a real bug, or just a slick PS job? I have several friends using 10.3.1 and nobody has seen this. I highly doubt the authenticity of the bug. It is a neat trick, though...
     
  6. sethypoo macrumors 68000

    Joined:
    Oct 8, 2003
    Location:
    Sacramento, CA, USA
    #6
    Re: Is this real??

    I saw this SAME bug on a friends iBook running Panther 10.3.1. It was a slot-drive iBook.....he rebooted, and it stopped.

    Weird.....
     
  7. sebisworld thread starter macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jun 24, 2003
    #7
    Yeah, this is real. It has only happened to me this one time but it would be fun to see it again. At first, I only noticed the bug in the title bar of Safari's windows, but after restarting Safari, even the menu mixed up. iTunes was in the background the whole time so I don't know when it messed itself up.
    I discovered the save dialog when I tried to export the file in Fireworks and decided to put a screenshot of the dialog into the original one. So that is the only part that's 'photoshopped'.
    If you want more proof, I can easily brag with my uptime:

    Schreibtischlampe:~ sschmidt$ uptime
    1:17 up 2:14, 2 users, load averages: 0.73 0.74 0.65
     
  8. Makosuke macrumors 603

    Joined:
    Aug 15, 2001
    Location:
    The Cool Part of CA, USA
    #8
    That's very, very weird, although obviously also rather rare since I've never personally seen or even heard of anyone having that happen until now, and I hang in tech support forms a lot.

    To let Apple know, use the OSX feedback page and maybe link them to the image on the web somewhere. You could also post it in Apple's discussion forums.
     
  9. Finiksa macrumors 6502a

    Finiksa

    Joined:
    Feb 23, 2003
    Location:
    Australia
    #9
    OK that's pretty damn wiggy!

    I used to have a similar problem under OS X 10.1, What hardware are you running?
     
  10. Nermal Moderator

    Nermal

    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Dec 7, 2002
    Location:
    New Zealand
    #10
    I had that happen to me once under Jaguar (I don't know which revision). That was on my iBook G3/800. But I've only seen it once, and I bought that iBook almost a year ago.
     

Share This Page