only 6:40s?

Discussion in 'Mac Apps and Mac App Store' started by jadam, Jan 28, 2004.

  1. jadam macrumors 6502a

    jadam

    Joined:
    Jan 23, 2002
    #1
    I cant get my song to be longer then 6:40s, whats up!
     
  2. idkew macrumors 68020

    idkew

    Joined:
    Sep 26, 2001
    Location:
    where the concrete to dirt ratio is better
    #2
    when will people learn to be more descriptive?

    maybe you should stay in the shower longer. my showers are usually 10 minutes, so i get a good 8:30 song in.
     
  3. SilentPanda Moderator emeritus

    SilentPanda

    Joined:
    Oct 8, 2002
    Location:
    The Bamboo Forest
  4. fartheststar macrumors 6502a

    fartheststar

    Joined:
    Dec 29, 2003
    Location:
    Vancouver
    #4
    Re: only 6:40s?

    It's not the length of the song that matters....
     
  5. ChrisH3677 macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2003
    Location:
    Victoria, Australia
    #5
    There's a purple thingy (sorry for the tech talkk! It's a left facing triangle in the timeline) at 199 bars in my GB. When I leave playback running it stops at it.

    But you can move it. I moved mine to at least 700 bars. I'd reckon that's what's causing your problem.

    PS I didn't know about this til I investigated this for you. I haven't seen it documented anywhere (not that i've read much of the docos! :D) This will be very useful
     
  6. jadam thread starter macrumors 6502a

    jadam

    Joined:
    Jan 23, 2002
    #6
    Thanks that what I was asking, sorry for not being so specific.
     
  7. ChrisH3677 macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2003
    Location:
    Victoria, Australia
    #7
    jadam

    Impressive song! :D

    How much is stock GB loops and how much is recorded?
     
  8. jadam thread starter macrumors 6502a

    jadam

    Joined:
    Jan 23, 2002
    #8
    Haha! all is stock GB loops + JamPack, Im getting a keyboard tomorrow so Im going to add some more cool sounds in the song tomorrow hopefully.
     
  9. jadam thread starter macrumors 6502a

    jadam

    Joined:
    Jan 23, 2002
    #9
    From a rough guess I would say I had about 40 different apple loops in the song.
     
  10. johnnyjibbs macrumors 68030

    johnnyjibbs

    Joined:
    Sep 18, 2003
    Location:
    London, UK
    #10
    jadam: would you say the Jam Pack is worth getting? Normally I make my own music without relying on pre-done loops much (except maybe drum loops) but you get a whole lot of effects as well, don't you? Effects that you can't set up manually without the jampack?

    Good music by the way!
     
  11. jadam thread starter macrumors 6502a

    jadam

    Joined:
    Jan 23, 2002
    #11
    Well you get a lot of good new loops, but you also get some very interesting software instruments which make it worth it IMO.
     
  12. jadam thread starter macrumors 6502a

    jadam

    Joined:
    Jan 23, 2002
    #12
    Also the song has been updated today in case any of you are intereseted.
     
  13. ChrisH3677 macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2003
    Location:
    Victoria, Australia
    #13
    what changes have you made? Will it be obvious? I only listened to yours a coupla times - I probably should download it. :)
     
  14. jadam thread starter macrumors 6502a

    jadam

    Joined:
    Jan 23, 2002
    #14
    its not that obvious. They are very subtle changes.

    BTW Great song, how much of it is loops? And how much is recorded?
     
  15. ChrisH3677 macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2003
    Location:
    Victoria, Australia
    #15
    thanks :D

    It's all loops - some are cut a lot. Have a look at the song info, it tells track info of loops and effects.

    I especially like the middle eight - I think I will build a whole 'nuther song from it.

    When time permits!!! At 5 to 10 hours per song - my wife and kids gets a bit dark on me! :D Now I know why musos do so much of their work in the wee hours! :D :D
     
  16. punkmac macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2004
    #16
    export to itunes problem, finalizing mix

    the first export, 3 tracks appeared unmixed, lacking a 2nd vocal track and no effects on guitar.
    tried dragging from desktop, that worked, but again 3 incomplete tracks.
    went back into preferences to set export to specific playlist
    highlighted the cycle region, tried to join tracks, but it seems that i am not actually finalizing the mix????
    tried to export again, nothing appears in itunes.
    suggestions?
    thanks!
    tina.
     

Share This Page