Only Grab Through Preview

Discussion in 'Mac Basics and Help' started by PYR0M310N, Sep 28, 2006.

  1. PYR0M310N macrumors 6502a

    PYR0M310N

    Joined:
    Aug 29, 2006
    #1
    I use grab quite a lot on my ibook g4, but to get to it i have to open up preview and go through file>grab which is annoying. I would do it through the application menu by going Safari>Services>Grab but on all the programs, this option is greyed out and i can't access grab through that menu.

    I was wondering if anyone knew of a way to activate grab through that way?
     
  2. steve_hill4 macrumors 68000

    steve_hill4

    Joined:
    May 15, 2005
    Location:
    NG9, England
    #2
    Shift+cmd+3 grabs full current screen and saves to desktop by default.
    Shift+cmd+4 allows you to select an area to grab alone.
    Apps>Utilities>Grab allows you to grab too.
     
  3. Cloudgazer macrumors 6502

    Cloudgazer

    Joined:
    Apr 22, 2005
    Location:
    RSA
    #3
    You can find the Grab app in: applications> utilities.

    for quick acess you can drag it into your dock or drag it into the left hand-nav menu in Finder.
     
  4. steve_hill4 macrumors 68000

    steve_hill4

    Joined:
    May 15, 2005
    Location:
    NG9, England
    #4
    Using keybaord shortcuts, (as I described above along with location of Grab), is still quicker if you use it a lot. I'd only use Grab if I wanted to use timed selection or other extra features.
     
  5. tobefirst macrumors 68040

    tobefirst

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2005
    Location:
    St. Louis, MO
    #5
    And Shift+command+4 then a space bar turns the crosshairs into a camera, which will quickly capture any open window you click on. I find this to be the method I use the most.
     
  6. Kelmon macrumors 6502a

    Kelmon

    Joined:
    Mar 28, 2005
    Location:
    United Kingdom
    #6
    Shift+Cmd+4 and then Space allows you to select an individual window to take the screenshot of. Much more useful if you only wish to have a picture of a specific application window.

    EDIT: Bugger, tobefirst beat me to the punch...
     
  7. steve_hill4 macrumors 68000

    steve_hill4

    Joined:
    May 15, 2005
    Location:
    NG9, England
    #7
    Yes, forgot that one. So many useful shortcuts.
     
  8. PYR0M310N thread starter macrumors 6502a

    PYR0M310N

    Joined:
    Aug 29, 2006
  9. paz09 macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Sep 18, 2009
    #9
    hi, would you know

    excuse me, When I do a preview grab ( shift apple 4 ) the .png image comes up black - I tried it with the drop down menu and that comes up grey... have you seen this before?




     
  10. BlueRevolution macrumors 603

    BlueRevolution

    Joined:
    Jul 26, 2004
    Location:
    Montreal, QC
    #10
    But command+shift+3 works properly?

    Do you have more than one monitor, by chance?
     
  11. paz09 macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Sep 18, 2009
    #11
    it's all good now

    my key shoetcuts are shift comm 4. Only one monitor- but it works well now. thanks-:D
     
  12. Shownarou macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Sep 15, 2008
    Location:
    Newton, IA
    #12
    Instead of actually digging through the lists of folders, does anyone actually use spotlight?

    Just type what you're looking for into spotlight, and select it from the list. :rolleyes:
     

Share This Page