OOh my God - I can't access Apple.com!??

Discussion in 'Mac Apps and Mac App Store' started by bikeboy, Jan 3, 2005.

  1. bikeboy macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Dec 10, 2002
    Location:
    Ottawa, Ontario
    #1
    Ok, this gonna sound weird, but for some reason I can't reach Apple.com using Safari [1.2.4 (v125.12) on OS X.3.7]. The message I get continually is:

    "Safari can’t open the page “http://www.apple.com/” because it could not load any data from this location."

    This has been going on for about a week now. I can access the site using Firefox and IE, and as far as I know, there's no other site I can't access using Safari.

    I don't know if I can stand this for much longer. Help!!
     
  2. emw macrumors G4

    emw

    Joined:
    Aug 2, 2004
    #2
    Works for me (although your link has a strange additional set of characters at the end of the URL when loaded (%94). Try just typing in the address again, vs. using a bookmark.

    Also, try going to the IP address:

    http://17.112.152.32
     
  3. edesignuk Moderator emeritus

    edesignuk

    Joined:
    Mar 25, 2002
    Location:
    London, England
    #3
    That's just because of the quote (") at the end of bikeboy's link, typo I think.
     
  4. emw macrumors G4

    emw

    Joined:
    Aug 2, 2004
    #4
    Ah, now I see...
     
  5. wrldwzrd89 macrumors G5

    wrldwzrd89

    Joined:
    Jun 6, 2003
    Location:
    Solon, OH
    #5
    I get this error randomly on a variety of sites. Refreshing usually makes it go away for me.
     
  6. mkaake macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2003
    Location:
    mi
    #6
    eh... i can't wait for 10.3.8 - .7 has screwed up everything for me when I'm online. i get a beachball (proc, not because of ram) while viewing one site at a time (1 or 2 tabs) under safari, when I'm used to having about 10 tabs open at once. very annoying - most of them aren't short beach-balls, but about a minute long each time. and when I'm on ebay, it happens about every 2 minutes. even with pithhelmet getting rid of flash ads...

    <edit>

    happens in camino too, strangely enough... maybe it's just a dial-up problem...
     
  7. lordmac macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Feb 15, 2004
    Location:
    Santa Cruz, CA
    #7
    have you tried....

    Have tried http://iphone.org/ its the same thing as apple.com just back url or an extra one that apple has but I think it hosted form a different server so it may work for you. :)
     
  8. keithpetey macrumors member

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2004
    #8
    try resetting your modem and router too. i have a old linksys router and sometimes certain websites wont work. its gay.
     
  9. bikeboy thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Dec 10, 2002
    Location:
    Ottawa, Ontario
    #9
    Thanks guys. Both http://17.112.152.32/ and http://iphone.org/ appear to be loading, but v...e....r....y slowly, with a number of errors. I'm not sure if it's a router problem, as Firefox and IE can access the site fine. Worth a try though, thanks again.
     

Share This Page