Opacity help (and critique if you want to)

Discussion in 'Web Design and Development' started by thejadedmonkey, Dec 14, 2006.

  1. macrumors 604

    thejadedmonkey

    Joined:
    May 28, 2005
    Location:
    Pa
    #1
    So I'm working on a website.. and it's coming along.

    Now, on the left hand side of the page is a menu. It's made out of a div which has .9 opacity. Inside it is a list, and I want the background of the list item to be white, with no opacity when the mouse hovers over it. Unfortunately, even if I set opacity to 1, it still doesn't do anything.. any help?

    and critiques are welcome too.

    http://rilet.com/sites/UST/

    P.S. Township info is the only link that works.
     
  2. macrumors 65816

    ChicoWeb

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2004
    Location:
    California
    #2
    Eek..

    Why not just make it a bg image? Opacity is bad news and slows down your load time. It's a memory hog.
     
  3. thread starter macrumors 604

    thejadedmonkey

    Joined:
    May 28, 2005
    Location:
    Pa
    #3
    Good idea. It's amazing how I can get caught up using fun CSS when an image would work just as well!:eek:
     
  4. macrumors 68040

    elppa

    Joined:
    Nov 26, 2003
    #4
    That Salford looks a bit nicer than the one we have in the UK.
     
  5. macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2006
    Location:
    Ballarat, Victoria, Australia
    #5
    Have you tried using a semi-transparent PNG as the default background image, and then set the background colour to white on hover.

    If you do that you have to use a hack for IE.....filter:progID(????)....(do a search).
     

Share This Page