Open Photoshop With Terminal

Discussion in 'Mac Programming' started by mertozkoy, Sep 20, 2010.

  1. macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2010
    #1
    Hello,

    Newbie to Mac OS X.

    On Windows Xp, I can open up Photoshop via typing:

    PHP:
    photoshop
    in command prompt and press Return.

    I tried to open photoshop in Terminal of Mac OS X via typing:

    PHP:
    photoshop
    and executing it but it did not help.

    So, what am I doing wrong and how can I start photoshop with a shortcut?

    Thanks.
     
  2. Moderator emeritus

    robbieduncan

    Joined:
    Jul 24, 2002
    Location:
    London
  3. macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Jun 20, 2008
    Location:
    Part of the old MR guard.
    #3
    PHP:
    open -"Photoshop CS3"
    should do the work.
     
  4. thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2010
    #4
    Hi,

    Thanks;

    PHP:
    open -"Adobe Photoshop CS5"
    did helped. But can not I provide more genereal phrase like :

    PHP:
    open -"Photoshop"
    Because I need this phrase for developing a program. I do not know which photoshop version is installed on user's computer. It can be CS3 or CS5. When using on Windows XP below expression opens up the installed Photoshop no matter which version installed.

    photoshop
     
  5. Moderator emeritus

    robbieduncan

    Joined:
    Jul 24, 2002
    Location:
    London
    #5
    As per the man page for open (which you read right? If not explain why not) you can use the -b switch to specify a bundle identifier. Assuming Adobe do not change bundle identifiers between versions of Photoshop (I don't know if they do or don't, it's not common to do so) this would work.
     
  6. thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2010
    #6
    PHP:
    open -"photoshop"
    Thanks but above did not help. How can I find the bundle identifier for photoshop?
     
  7. Moderator emeritus

    robbieduncan

    Joined:
    Jul 24, 2002
    Location:
    London
    #7
    I don't know: I'm at work and don't have access to a Mac. Did you, by any chance, consider using Google to find out how to find a bundle identifier. It should be in reverse DNS form so will be something like com.adobe.photoshop, but you need to be exact, to the character, so I'd look it up in the actual app.
     
  8. thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2010
    #8
    Hello robbieduncan,

    PHP:
    open -"com.adobe.Photoshop"
    Indeed helped.

    Thank you so much.
     

Share This Page