"Open With" shows some Apps twice

Discussion in 'macOS' started by bLiss, Mar 23, 2007.

  1. bLiss macrumors member

    bLiss

    Joined:
    Jun 14, 2005
    Location:
    usa
    #1
    Hi everyone I wonder if anyone knows how to fix this one:

    For a .jpg file, for instance, the Open With menu shows some Apps once (Preview, Imagewell, or Colorview) but others twice (Firefox, Safari, and Quicktime).

    I tried the solution presented here: http://www.macosxhints.com/article.php?story=20031215144430486 but sadly to no avail.

    Any ideas? Thanks.
     
  2. HungrySeacow macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2006
    Location:
    West Palm Beach
    #2
    Do you by any chance have more then one copy of these programs on your system, or on a USB/Fireware drive connected to your system?
     
  3. bLiss thread starter macrumors member

    bLiss

    Joined:
    Jun 14, 2005
    Location:
    usa
    #3
    No, this is a brand new computer so everything is pretty much as it should be right now. I added a second user... perhaps this is the issue, but that's a pretty stupid side-effect of having multiple users.
     
  4. bigandy macrumors G3

    bigandy

    Joined:
    Apr 30, 2004
    Location:
    Murka
    #4
    i've been noticing this happening since updating to 10.4.9.

    it's starting to bug me :rolleyes:

    mine happens without any extra volumes mounted, and i can't think what may be causing it.
     
  5. davidjearly macrumors 68020

    davidjearly

    Joined:
    Sep 21, 2006
    Location:
    Glasgow, Scotland
    #5
    I'd suggest trying that again, making sure you are executing the command exactly as written. I recently had to do this and it worked perfectly.

    David
     
  6. NightStorm macrumors 68000

    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2006
    Location:
    Whitehouse, OH
    #6
    I've had this issue present itself on one of my systems since upgrading to 10.4.9. I'll take a look at the website suggested above and report back.
     
  7. McGarvels macrumors 6502

    McGarvels

    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2006
    Location:
    Irvine, CA
    #7
    I've had this on my MB and iMac since I've got them basically. This solution worked for me perfectly. Thanks bLiss!
     
  8. bLiss thread starter macrumors member

    bLiss

    Joined:
    Jun 14, 2005
    Location:
    usa
    #8
    Good idea!! lol. I thought I typed it perfectly but the old copy-n-paste made sure it was right, and this time Terminal took more than a split second to complete the task, and it is fixed!

    I'm glad that I, albeit unintentionally, could bring others with the same issue aware of the solution. Woohoo!
     
  9. WildCowboy Administrator/Editor

    WildCowboy

    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jan 20, 2005
    #9
    FWIW, MainMenu is handy maintenance app that includes an option to rebuild LaunchServices. That way you can do it through a GUI without having to worry about making errors with Terminal commands.
     
  10. soLoredd macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Mar 12, 2007
    Location:
    California
    #10
    I actually read somewhere else that OnyX can do it so I ran the "Reset LaunchServices" tool. Everything went fine and now I'm back to just having one icon of the app show up.

    But, my question is, is it normal now that apps are asking me to open up for the first time? For example, I open a .nzb file by double-clicking on it and a prompt pops up saying "This is the first time you are running this application. Do you want to proceed?"

    I figure it's normal because the file association has been lost with the reset but I just want to make sure. Thanks :)
     

Share This Page