Opening Time Capsule Ports

Discussion in 'Mac Accessories' started by tflint, Apr 6, 2009.

  1. macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Feb 2, 2009
    #1
    I just replaced by old wireless router with a Time Capsule. I have everything set up and running correctly, but now I am unable to connect to my work's VPN. I can connect to my WIFI on my laptop, just not to the VPN. I talked to my work's tech support and they told me I need to open specific ports, but I can't figure out how to do this. Can somebody give me a walkthrough of how to open my Time Capsule ports? Thanks in advance.
     
  2. macrumors demi-god

    Joined:
    Oct 14, 2005
    Location:
    Virginia Beach
    #2
    Use the Airport Utility program on your Mac.

    Click on Internet > NAT > Configure Port Mappings
     
  3. thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Feb 2, 2009
    #3

    Okay, where do I type in the port number at? In public or private and in UDP or TCP? Also, what service do I choose?
     
  4. macrumors demi-god

    Joined:
    Oct 14, 2005
    Location:
    Virginia Beach
    #4
    You can leave the service blank.

    Your IT guys can tell you if the port is UDP or TCP. It's more than likely TCP.

    Enter the same port number for the public and private port area.

    For the private IP address, you need to enter the IP address of your Mac.
     
  5. thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Feb 2, 2009
    #5
    Okay, I will give that a try. If there are two ports they gave me do I just put them both in separated by a comma?
     
  6. macrumors demi-god

    Joined:
    Oct 14, 2005
    Location:
    Virginia Beach
    #6
    Do each port separately. (i.e. finish entering one, save it, then go and add the other one)
     

Share This Page