operating system language

Discussion in 'Buying Tips and Advice' started by sAy2k, Jul 10, 2006.

  1. sAy2k macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Dec 7, 2004
    Location:
    Vancouver
    #1
    So in a previous thread I asked what I should do in regards to getting a new mac. Everyone has been super helpful, THANKS!

    So I made up my mind: G5 2.3 yada yada ya... so I've been looking at the apple website and some local resellers here in Canada. And I found the 2.3 G5 (part # M9591LL/A ) at Futureshop for $2499 CND, $500 cheaper than at the apple store or any apple resellers here. In Canada the machines are $2999. So in reading the description on the website, two things came up: one it only says it has room for 8GB of memory, when I know they have room for 16GB (right?) and it says "Please Note: This product only contains French operating instructions and system software." Now, if I get this from them I save $500... which will justify the ipod purchase I just made. I know when you buy the latest OSX upgrade, it comes with option on what language you want to install. Would this be the case to? Could I just install the system disk that the machine comes with and choose my language?
     
  2. ham_man macrumors 68020

    ham_man

    Joined:
    Jan 21, 2005
    #2
    Assuming they give you the restore disks (which they should), you can do a reinstall of the OS (in this case, you want to do a clean install, because of the newness of the machine) and choose your language then... :)
     
  3. wmmk macrumors 68020

    wmmk

    Joined:
    Mar 28, 2006
    Location:
    The Library.
    #3
    you should be able to. i think they're just referring to the manuals, which you download the English version of on the support section of apple's website.
     
  4. sAy2k thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Dec 7, 2004
    Location:
    Vancouver
    #4

    Good points... the machine is from apple, so it should come with all the disks. I was just wondering if the restore discs would be french only.
     
  5. ham_man macrumors 68020

    ham_man

    Joined:
    Jan 21, 2005
    #5
    No. During the install, the very first prompt asks you which language you wish to proceed with during the installation...
     
  6. Nermal Moderator

    Nermal

    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Dec 7, 2002
    Location:
    New Zealand
    #6
    If it's a brand new system then it'll ask you to select your language the first time you boot.
     
  7. wmmk macrumors 68020

    wmmk

    Joined:
    Mar 28, 2006
    Location:
    The Library.
    #7
    well, my restore disks are in all languages, so I don't see why others wouldn't be. it probably would just be best to contact the retailer, though.
     
  8. sAy2k thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Dec 7, 2004
    Location:
    Vancouver
    #8
    Yeah I thought about that, but I've found that the Futureshop isn't the best when it comes to product knowledege when it comes to Macs. Well, I think I'll look at it this way. If I can't understasnd it when I get it, IE I can't change the language for some reason, then I bring it back. Saving $500 is worth a few days of waiting for it to ship and tinkering around. Besides, I have my Tiger disc, I could always plop that in there and change everything around. I'd probably just loose some of the software that shipped with it I suppose.
     
  9. TheAnswer macrumors 68030

    TheAnswer

    Joined:
    Jan 25, 2002
    Location:
    Orange County, CA
    #9
    I find it would be very strange just to have French "installed". Even though I installed Tiger in English, I can still go to the International panel and put Español as the priority and after reboot everything is in Español (even the help files). So unless they've run delocalizer or a similar program on it, I'm betting it has all the languages in there.
     
  10. ham_man macrumors 68020

    ham_man

    Joined:
    Jan 21, 2005
    #10
    You can select not to install languages. I only install English, as I don't see myself needing Arabic, Chinese, French, Spanish, Italian, etc. as my primary language any time soon. However, the default install of OS X has all the languages on it, if I recall correctly. :)
     

Share This Page