operating system ?'s

Discussion in 'Mac Basics and Help' started by vdubguy209, Dec 18, 2005.

  1. vdubguy209 macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Nov 5, 2005
    #1
    i have a blue and white tower g3. i was wondering whats the best os i can get for it?
     
  2. dmw007 macrumors G4

    dmw007

    Joined:
    May 26, 2005
    Location:
    Working for MI-6
    #2
    Maybe somewhere around Mac OS X version 10.3.
    Depends in part on how much RAM you have in there.
     
  3. Nermal Moderator

    Nermal

    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Dec 7, 2002
    Location:
    New Zealand
    #3
    I'm pretty sure the B&W can run up to 10.3.9.
     
  4. kainjow Moderator emeritus

    kainjow

    Joined:
    Jun 15, 2000
    #4
    They can most certainly run Panther.

    Not sure about Tiger, but I would be very surprised if they couldn't.

    I'd say the best OS is Panther. Get 512MB of ram and it'll be a decent computer.
     
  5. dmw007 macrumors G4

    dmw007

    Joined:
    May 26, 2005
    Location:
    Working for MI-6
    #5
    With 512MB+ of RAM, Mac OS 10.3.9 should run okay.
     
  6. Nermal Moderator

    Nermal

    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Dec 7, 2002
    Location:
    New Zealand
    #6
    You must have a Macintosh computer with:
    • a PowerPC G3, G4, or G5 processor
    • a DVD drive
    • built-in FireWire
    • at least 256 MB of RAM
    • a built-in display or a display connected to an Apple-supplied video card supported by your computer
    • at least 3 GB of disk space available, or 4 GB if you install the developer tools
     
  7. vdubguy209 thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Nov 5, 2005
    #7
    yea i have 1gb of ram, so panther it is. thanks guys!!! im very new to mac, anything else i should know. like any other places to get some programs or programs i should get?
     
  8. BlueRevolution macrumors 603

    BlueRevolution

    Joined:
    Jul 26, 2004
    Location:
    Montreal, QC
    #8
  9. ~Shard~ macrumors P6

    ~Shard~

    Joined:
    Jun 4, 2003
    Location:
    1123.6536.5321
    #9
    I think this would be an excellent place for you to start. :cool:
     
  10. spinne1 macrumors 6502a

    spinne1

    Joined:
    Mar 12, 2005
    Location:
    Hermitage, TN USA (near Nashville)
    #11
    Blue and White G3's HAVE built in firewire and they can run Tiger just fine. The only reason I don't have it yet is because of $ and because Panther runs fine for me and I'm not sure the benefits are worth the trouble yet (I honestly don't ever need to search within files. I usually know where all my stuff is).

    The only stumbling block with a Blue and White G3 and firewire is that you cannot boot from a firewire external hard drive, but generally that does not matter because you can boot from CDs if you need to do some disk maintenance or troubleshooting.
     
  11. Nermal Moderator

    Nermal

    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Dec 7, 2002
    Location:
    New Zealand
    #12
    Wow, I thought they predated it :eek:
     
  12. ITASOR macrumors 601

    ITASOR

    Joined:
    Mar 20, 2005
    Location:
    Oneida, NY
    #13
    B&W's can run Tiger fine if you have enough HD/RAM. I've seen many of them running Tiger and know someone personally who does as their main computer.
     
  13. SmurfBoxMasta macrumors 65816

    SmurfBoxMasta

    Joined:
    Nov 24, 2005
    Location:
    I'm only really here at night.
    #14
    I'm running Tiger just fine on my smurfbox, w/1GB of ram, WD Raptor, & Radeon 9200 :)
     

Share This Page