operating systems

Discussion in 'Community' started by jefhatfield, Sep 29, 2002.

?

least successful operating system launch and/or sales

1. windows 2000

5 vote(s)
    10.9%
  2. windows ME

31 vote(s)
    67.4%
  3. any non red hat linux os

4 vote(s)
    8.7%
  4. os x

6 vote(s)
    13.0%
  1. jefhatfield Retired

jefhatfield

os 9 worked and is used a lot, same with red hat linux, same with windows 95 and 98

but some operating systems flopped and had bad sales or were not used that much...which is the most notable flop?

being a windows/pc tech, i have to say that the launch of windows 2000 was just awful and the industry took a long time to come around and in many cases did not

though windows 2000 was supposed to be friendlier to gaming developers than windows nt, the develpement of windows 2000 games was sluggish

and windows 2000 was supposed to have the stability of windows nt and the multimedia aspects of windows 98 and be the first all around operating system, but that did not work so microsoft back pedaled and put out the multimedia operating system windows ME

driver support for windows 2000 was not great, especially for backward compatible hardware on the hardware compatability list

in a way, windows 2000 and windows ME was a stop gap between windows 98 and windows xp

windows 2000 and windows xp have the basic code and stability of windows nt and is not dos like windows 95/98/ME and that is or is not a good thing depending on your perspective

2. edesignuk Moderator emeritus

edesignuk

I'd say WinME, it SUCKED! U were better of sticking with 98.

3. job macrumors 68040

job

Windows ME = Windows Might Explode.. :D

SuSE Linux has made it pretty big in Europe along with Mandrake Linux.

Just because it is not Red Hat does not mean it won't succeed. :p

4. jefhatfield thread starter Retired

jefhatfield

windows me was rushed due to the shortcomings of windows 2000